Carnegie Mellon University
June 03, 2014

Press Release: Carnegie Mellon Alumni Zachary Quinto of "Star Trek," Matt Bomer of "The Normal Heart" To Introduce First, Exclusive Educator Honor at June 8 Tony Awards® on CBS

New CMU, Tony Awards® Partnership Will Launch National Honor for K-12 Theatre Educators

Contacts: Ken Walters / 412-268-1151 /
                Pam Wigley / 412-268-1047 /
                Shawn Purdy - SLATE PR / For the Tony Awards / 212-235-6813 /

Tony Educator Honor LogoPITTSBURGH—Two Carnegie Mellon University alumni — Zachary Quinto of "Star Trek" and Broadway's "The Glass Menagerie" and Matt Bomer of "The Normal Heart" and "White Collar" — will debut an exclusive educator honor at this year's Tony Awards® on Sunday, June 8 on CBS.

On stage at Radio City Music Hall during the live broadcast, Quinto and Bomer will introduce the creation of the "Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education presented by Carnegie Mellon University," which is the first, national recognition program to honor kindergarten through high-school (K-12) theatre educators. This follows the university's announcement in April that it will collaborate with the Tony Awards as its first, exclusive higher education partner. Nominations for theatre educators will be accepted online this fall and the first recipient will be honored on stage at the 2015 Tony Awards.

CMU's School of Drama is the oldest drama degree-granting program in the United States and celebrates its centennial in 2014. In the past century, CMU has produced hundreds of Tony nominees and 31 Tony winners — eight winners in 2013 alone.

This year, six CMU alumni have been nominated for a Tony, including:

  • Paula Wagner as a producer for Best Play for "Mothers and Sons";
  • Jamie DeRoy (A'67) as a producer for Best Musical for "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder";
  • Cherry Jones (A'78) for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play for "The Glass Menagerie";
  • Sutton Foster for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical for "Violet";
  • Peter Hylenski (A'97) for Best Sound Design of a Musical for "After Midnight";
  • Leigh Silverman (A'96) for Best Direction of a Musical for "Violet."

In addition, Wagner and fellow CMU alum Billy Porter (A'91), a 2013 Tony Award winner, will join CMU's College of Fine Arts Dean Dan Martin for an on-stage presentation celebrating arts and theatre education, and its vital role in developing the next great generation of actors, directors, producers and all theatre professionals.

Last year, Porter and fellow CMU alumni Patina Miller (A'06), Judith Light (A'70), Ann Roth (A'53), Jules Fisher (A'60), Peggy Eisenhauer (A'83), Martin Platt (A'71) and Jamie DeRoy (A'67) took home Tony Awards.

The 2014 Tony Awards, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 8, on CBS. The 68th annual Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.


About Carnegie Mellon University: Carnegie Mellon ( is a private, internationally ranked research university with programs in areas ranging from science, technology and business, to public policy, the humanities and the arts. More than 12,000 students in the university's seven schools and colleges benefit from a small student-to-faculty ratio and an education characterized by its focus on creating and implementing solutions for real problems, interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation. A global university, Carnegie Mellon has campuses in Pittsburgh, Pa., California's Silicon Valley and Qatar, and programs in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe and Mexico.

About the Tony Awards: The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2014 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2014 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet. United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards. The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards. Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of the Tony Awards. City National Bank is the official bank of the Tony Awards. Carnegie Mellon University is the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner of the Tony Awards.