Carnegie Mellon University
January 11, 2011

News Brief: 3 New AAAS Fellows

Three Carnegie Mellon University faculty members, John Lehoczky, Manuela Veloso and Larry Wasserman, have been elected 2010 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. AAAS fellowships are awarded to individuals for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Lehoczky, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the Thomas Lord Professor of Statistics, is being recognized "for significant and sustained contributions to the theory and applications of stochastic processes, particularly to the modeling of real-time computer systems and financial markets, and for his outstanding contributions to education both in the classroom and through academic administration."

Veloso, the Herbert A. Simon Professor of Computer Science, is being cited for her "distinguished contributions to artificial intelligence, especially advances in automated planning, multi-agent systems, and robotics."

Wasserman, a professor of statistics and machine learning, is being honored "for fundamental contributions to statistical theory and statistical machine learning, to applications of statistics in astronomy and genomics and to statistical pedagogy."

New AAAS fellows will be presented with an official certificate and rosette pin at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Saturday, Feb. 19 during the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Shilo Raube