Carnegie Mellon University

Morris Fiorina- "An Era of Tenuous Majorities Continues"

Wednesday, April 5, 2017, 4:45-5:45pm, Baker Hall 136A

Morris P. Fiorina is the Wendt Family Professor of Political Science at Stanford University and a Senior Fellow of the Hoover Institution. He received an undergraduate degree from Allegheny College and a Ph.D. from the University of Rochester, and taught at Caltech and Harvard before coming to Stanford in 1998.  Fiorina has written widely on American politics, with special emphasis on the study of representation and elections. He has published numerous articles and written or edited thirteen books: Representatives, Roll Calls, and Constituencies; Congress--Keystone of the Washington Establishment; Retrospective Voting in American National Elections; The Personal Vote: Constituency Service and Electoral Independence (coauthored with Bruce Cain and John Ferejohn); Home Style and Washington Work (co-edited with David Rohde); The New American Democracy (co-authored with Paul Peterson and Bert Johnson); Divided Government; Civic Engagement in American Democracy (co-edited with Theda Skocpol), Change and Continuity in House Elections (co-edited with David Brady and John Cogan), Culture War? The Myth of a Polarized America (with Samuel Abrams and Jeremy Pope), Disconnect: The Breakdown of Representation in American Politics (with Samuel Abrams), and Can We Talk: The Rise of Rude, Nasty, Stubborn Politics (co-edited with Daniel Shea), and currently, An Era of Tenuous Majorities.  Fiorina has served on the editorial boards of a dozen journals in Political Science, Political Economy, Law, and Public Policy, and from 1986-1990 served as chairman of the Board of Overseers of the American National Election Studies. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Political and Social Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. In 2006 the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior Section of the American Political Science Association awarded him the Warren E. Miller Prize for career contributions to the field.

Sponsored by the Center for International Relations and Politics.