Goldwater Scholarship-Fellowships and Scholarships Office - Carnegie Mellon University

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship


The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is designed to attract outstanding students into careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.  Scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit to students who are sophomores or juniors during the current academic year and who have excellent academic records and demonstrated interest in and potential for careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering.  The scholarship covers eligible expenses for tuition, fees, books, and room and board to a maximum of $7,500 per academic year.  Junior scholarship recipients can expect to receive a maximum of two years of scholarship support.  Senior scholarship recipients are eligible for a maximum of one year of scholarship support.

  • Must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident or US national.
  • Must be a Sophomore or Junior with a college grade-point average of at least “B” and be in the upper fourth of his or her class.
  • Majoring in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering.
  • Students who plan to study medicine are eligible for a Goldwater Scholarship only if they plan a research career rather than a career as a medical doctor in a private practice.

Nominees are evaluated on:

  1. Demonstrated potential for and commitment to a career in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering
  2. Outstanding academic performance (typically not less than an "A" in coursework for his or her major).
  3. Institution Nomination – verifying the nominee’s eligibility and academic status
  4. The extent to which that individual has the commitment and potential to make a significant contribution to his or her field.
  5. Three Recommendations Letters.
  6. Research - past, current and proposed research experience.


Goldwater Application Tips (pdf)
Writing Recommendations for Goldwater (pdf)

Students must apply through FSO and follow the campus deadline. 
Carnegie Mellon may nominate four students for the national competition.  The four nominees are chosen by a campus selection committee comprised primarily of faculty that meets in December.

Application Workshop:
October 27, 2016, 4:30-5:30 pm, GHC 4102

Campus Deadline:
December 1, 2016, 12:00 pm (noon)

Application and essay online; 
transcripts emailed to
or delivered to 520 Warner Hall

Final Nominee Deadline:
January 23, 2017, 5:00 pm


Richelle Bernazzoli
(412) 268-9987

campus rep

2015 Winner

2014 Winners

  • Jillian Jaycox '16
  • Joshua Kubiak '16

2011 Winners

  • Benjamin Cowley '12
  • Robert Tisherman '12
  • Stephanie Guerra '12

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2008 Honorable Mention
  • Carmeline Dsilva '10
    Chemical Engineering
2007 Winners
  • Gregory Newby '09
    Biological Sciences
  • Samantha Spath '08
    Biological Sciences
  • Jonathan Stahlman '08
  • Lauren Thorpe '08
    SHS-Biological Sciences

recent winners