Carnegie Mellon University

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Department of English at Carnegie Mellon University

The English Department is dedicated to creating a climate that amplifies and nurtures practices of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI), not just through words but through actions. To conduct this work, we have established a DEI committee and set the following three goals for this committee: 1) to understand and address ongoing climate issues that emerge in our community; 2) to enrich our intellectual engagement by supporting department members pursuing work and holding events related to DEI and holding events related to DEI; and 3) to build a long term accountability plan that gives the department multiple opportunities to sustain, reflect on, and continually revise our practices in order to achieve such an environment.

Key Definitions

Diversity is the presence of difference within our department, including but not limited to race, gender, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, nationality, socioeconomic status, language, dis/ability, age, geographic location, religious commitment, or political perspective.
Equity refers to fair and just practices and policies that ensure all department community members have the same access to resources, opportunities, and outcomes. Equity is different from equality in that equality presumes everyone’s baseline to access is the same. Being equitable requires acknowledging and addressing structural inequalities—historic and current—that advantage some and disadvantage others.
Inclusion is the practice of ensuring that people feel a sense of belonging in our workplace, attending particularly to especially historically disadvantaged and under-represented groups and if they feel and/or are welcomed.

DEI Dashboard

Based on surveys conducted annually, see the identity and representation of the English Department by using our interactive dashboard:

Stephanie Larson, Chair | Faculty
Eyona Bivins | Staff
Jason England | Faculty
Peter Mayshle |Special Faculty
Rich Purcell| Faculty
Nick Ryan | Staff
Nisha Shanmugaraj | PhD Student
Elizabeth Walker | PhD Student
Joanna Wolfe | Faculty

Stephanie Larson, Co-Chair | Faculty
Rich Purcell, Co-Chair | Faculty

Jason England | Faculty
Peter Mayshle | Special Faculty
Jane McCafferty | Faculty
Kristina Straub | Faculty
Stephen Wittek | Faculty
Joanna Wolfe | Faculty
James Wynn | Faculty
Eyona Bivins | Staff
Vickie McKay | Staff
Nick Ryan | Staff

Julie Kidder | PhD Student
Isis Brooks | Undergraduate Student