Carnegie Mellon News Online Edition: May 10, 2001: Auberjonois to Give Keynote Address
Carnegie Mellon News Online Edition
In This Issue

Auberjonois to Give Keynote Address

New Building for Posner Fine Arts

New Science Labs for Doherty Hall

Honorary Degrees

Student Speaker Nitya Venkataraman

Commencement Weekend at a Glance

Commencement Ceremonies and Receptions

Professors Earn Top Academic Distinction

William Mullins a "Scientists Scientist"

Timothy Burritt Dies in Motorcycle Crash

India Honors Reddy

H&SS Outstanding Service Awards

Architecture Aims to Unify "Allied Fields"

Am I Who I Am? Art Exhibit to Open

East Campus Garage to Install Pay-as-You-Park

Art Students Collaborate

Stephen Schwartz Attends ACS Dinner

This Issue's Front Page
Carnegie Mellon News Home
Carnegie Mellon News Services Home Page

Rene Auberjonois "Esteemed Group" Garners Honorary Degrees at 104th Commencement
Actor Rene Auberjonois to Give Keynote Address

Five nationally known professionals who have made valuable contributions to society in the fields of public policy, science and technology, chemistry, education and law will receive honorary degrees at Carnegie Mellon's 104th commencement at 11 a.m., Sunday, May 20, in Gesling Stadium.

A sixth well-known professional who has earned acclaim in the entertainment industry, Tony® Award-winning actor Rene Auberjonois, will give the keynote address.

The five honorary degree recipients are Stephanie Kwolek (S 1946), a retired research chemist for the DuPont Company who created the technology to produce Kevlar, a non-conductive fiber five times stronger than steel; Gordon Moore, chairman emeritus of the Intel Corporation; John Murray, president and professor of law at Duquesne University; Kenneth Prewitt, dean of the graduate faculty of political and social science at New School University in New York City and former director of the U.S. Census Bureau; and William Strickland, president and chief executive officer of the Manchester Craftsmen's Guild and Bidwell Training Center, Inc.

Honorary degree recipients were selected by an Honorary Degrees Committee and President Jared L. Cohon. (See Honorary Degrees for more on this year's recipients.)

"This is an esteemed and accomplished group of honorary degree recipients," President Cohon said. "Each one is among the very best in his or her field, producing work and providing leadership that have had a wide-ranging impact in our society. Their lifelong achievements make them richly deserving of this recognition."

Prewitt will give the keynote address at the doctor's hooding ceremony at 8 p.m., Saturday, May 19, in the University Center's Wiegand Gymnasium. As director of the U.S. Census Bureau during its 2000 campaign, Prewitt played an instrumental role in what is considered by many to be the largest peacetime mobilization in history.

Called an "actor's actor" by his peers, Auberjonois, a 1962 graduate of the School of Drama, has earned many accolades for his performances in television, in film and on Broadway during his 40-year career. He earned a Tony Award for his Broadway performance in "Coco," in which he co-starred with Katherine Hepburn.

Auberjonois is perhaps best known for his role as Clayton Endicott III on the television comedy series "Benson," for which he earned an Emmy® nomination. He also received an Emmy nomination for his role in the television movie "Sleeping Beauty" and has guest starred on "Frasier," "Matlock" and "The Practice." His most recent series role was as Constable Odo in "Star Trek: Deep Space Nine."

His many film credits include "M*A*S*H," "McCabe and Mrs. Miller," "The Eyes of Laura Mars," "The Patriot," "Batman Forever," Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country," "The Hindenberg" and "The Ballad of Little Jo." He was the voice of the chef in Disney's "The Little Mermaid."

In addition to his award-winning performance in "Coco," Auberjonois' stage credits include "King Lear," "Richard III" and "Metamorphosis." He received Tony nominations for his roles in "City of Angels," "Big River" and "The Good Doctor."

"Rene is one of the great actors of his generation," said Peter Frisch, head of the School of Drama. "His physical, vocal and emotional transformational abilities have led to one of the longest, deepest and most varied careers in contemporary acting."

Auberjonois received a Carnegie Mellon Alumni Merit Award in 1986 and an Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award last May.

This year's student speaker at commencement is Nitya Venkataraman, an anthropology and history major with a minor in business administration. (See Student Speaker Nitya Venkataraman for more on Venkataraman.)

More than 2,100 bachelor's, master's and doctor's degrees will be conferred by the college and school deans at commencement. Graduates will receive their diplomas at individual ceremonies on and off campus. (See Commencement Ceremonies and Receptions for a listing of diploma ceremonies and receptions.)

Bruce Gerson

This Issue's Headlines || Carnegie Mellon News Home || Other News at Carnegie Mellon || Carnegie Mellon Home