Carnegie Mellon University

VDM Masterclass Series 2 Registration is Open!!

button_register-here-1.png

 

Thank you to Sui Ming Chu (HONG KONG), Louise Mathieu (CANADA)Elda Nelly Treviño (MEXICO), and Andrew Davidson (ENGLAND) for sharing your time, energy, and ideas with us. 

Registration Details  
  • VDM Masterclasses require paid pre-registration. $22 USD per class. 
  • You will receive a Zoom link to the class about 48 hours in advance of the class.
  • We will send a recording to all masterclass registrants. You may participate live or watch the recording later (or both!). The recording link expires after 30 days. 
  • Registration for Masterclasses #6, 7, 8, and 9 is now open. Recordings of earlier Masterclasses areavailable for purchase HERE (with a new 30 day expiration).
  • Each class will last 90 minutes. 60-75 minutes of teaching followed by questions and discussion. All classes are taught in English.
Discount
    • Are you a Central or South American resident? Due to a generous gift to the VDM we are able to underwrite partial registration fees for you! Click HERE for the Central/South American registration page.
    • Not from Central or South America?
      We have discounts for you too:
      Register for 2 or more masterclasses and save 15%
      –Use promo code “dalcroze2” for 2 masterclasses
      –Use promo code “dalcroze3” for 3 masterclasses
      –If you are signing up for more than 3 masterclasses and want to use the promo codes, the GoFundMe Registration page requires you to make separate transactions in groups of 2 or 3. For example, to buy 5 masterclass tickets and get the discount, select 2 tickets and use “dalcroze2”, then make a second order to select the remaining 3 and use “dalcroze3.” 🤪🤪

Questions? 
Check out our Frequently Asked Questions here

Need a scholarship?
If you are in need of financial assistance to attend the masterclass series, please email us at virtualdalcroze@gmail.com and we will be happy to help as much as we can. 

button_support-the-vdm-scholarship-fund.png

=======================

button_register-here-1.png

=======================

Masterclass #6

October 3/4, 2020 with Sui Ming Chu (HONG KONG)
"Dynamic in action, meeting the mind of Dalcroze and Laban"

Saturday, October 3, 2020 (Americas) at 6:00pm PDT / 7:00pm MDT / 8:00pm CDT & CDMX / 9:00pm EDT
Sunday October 4, 2020 (Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia) at 1:00am GMT / 2:00am BST London / 9:00am Western Australia & Singapore / 10:00am Tokyo / 12:00pm (noon) Sydney

Both Dalcroze and Laban are interested in expressivity, one in music  and the other in dance. After Laban met Dalcroze and saw his work in 1912. He said “It was an experience that will play a part in my own development” (Perrottet 93). It is fascinating to see how Dalcroze’s thought continues into Laban’s work and at the same time how Laban’s work could contribute back into the work of Dalcroze. This workshop is an attempt to integrate Laban’s movement concept of how emotions were expressed and communicated through the rhythmic use of the human body and its application into eurhythmics training, ultimately how it helps our creativity and expressivity. 

Sui Ming Chu is a concert pianist and an experienced teacher of Dalcroze Eurhythmics. Specialised in developing artistic expressivity and creativity, she has mentored performance artists and individuals from all walks of life through realising rhythm in music and movement. Over the last ten years, she has collaborated with institutions including the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Shanghai Orchestra Academy, and Hong Kong Baptist University. She regularly performs in festivals such as idance festival and Hong Kong International Choreography Festival, creating performances around relationships between music and movement.

Passionate about holistic musical education, she lectures at the Music Department of Hong Kong Baptist University and is developing a music and movement programme for local primary schools in Shenzhen in mainland China. She presents frequently at international congresses, including the Jaques-Dalcroze International Congress 2015 in Geneva, 3rd International Congress of Dalcroze Studies at University Laval, Quebec City, and 50th World Congress on Dance Research in Athens, Greece 2017. And the most recent, the Dalcroze International Congress 2019 in Geneva and the 4th International Congress of Dalcroze Studies in Poland.

She graduated from London’s Guildhall School of Music in 1986, GGSM, attained a Bachelor of Arts HES-SO in music and movement from Haute École Specialisée de Suisse Occidentale: Institut Jacques Dalcroze, Geneva in 2009, received Dalcroze Certificate UK in 2010, and a Movement Specialist Diploma in Choreological studies, Trinity Laban, UK in 2018.

Website: www.syntempo.dance  



Masterclass #7

October 24/25, 2020 with Louise Mathieu (CANADA)
"Dalcroze Eurhythmics: A way to musical expression"

Saturday October 24 (Americas, Europe, Africa) at 11:00am PDT / 12:00pm MDT / 1:00pm CDT & CDMX / 2:00pm EDT / 18:00 GMT / 7:00pm BST London
Sunday October 25 (Asia, Australia) at 2:00am Western Australia & Singapore / 3:00am Tokyo / 5:00am Sydney

Dalcroze Eurhythmics helps to develop capacities that are indispensable to all musicians. It enhances auditory perception, favors a better control of nervous sensitivity, stimulates musicality and sense of rhythm and develops musical expression. For Jaques-Dalcroze, the acuity of our musical perception depends on the acuity of our senses.

Music and movement lie at the heart of the Dalcroze approach which comprises interrelated areas of studies (Rhythmics–Aural training–Improvisation–Plastique Animée). In this workshop, the participants will experience these interdependent branches through exercises combining listening and physical movement and will explore how Dalcroze Eurhythmics stimulates, develops and refines all the capacities we use when we engage in music.

Dr. Louise Mathieu is a Retired Professor of the Faculty of Music of Université Laval (Quebec, Canada) where she taught from 1976 to 2016. Director of Studies of Dalcroze Canada, she also acts as President of the Collège of the Institute Jaques-Dalcroze (Geneva) and Vice-Chair of the International Conference of Dalcroze Studies. Louise serves on the editorial board of the journal Recherche en Éducation Musicale and on scientific committees. A frequent lecturer and workshop leader, she holds the Dalcroze Diplôme supérieur (IJD, Geneva) and a Doctor of Arts (New York University).


Masterclass #8

November 21/22, 2020 with Elda Nelly Treviño (MEXICO)
"Lullabies: A Dalcroze Masterclass with Elda Nelly Treviño"
 

Saturday, November 21, 2020 (Americas) at 6:00pm PST / 7:00pm MST / 8:00pm CDT & CDMX / 9:00pm EST
Sunday, November 22, 2020 (Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia) at 2:00am GMT London / 10:00am Western Australia & Singapore / 11:00am Tokyo / 1:00pm Sydney

Even before being born, babies listen to music. The sensation of rocking in a peaceful atmosphere, gives a feeling of security and peace. Lullabies written in compound meter are present all around the world.  In this session we will explore with our bodies and voices the fine musicality present in the phrasing, melodic contour, and rhythmic design of a beautiful Mexican Christmas lullaby.  

Elda Nelly Treviño, Ph.D., is a professor at the Facultad de Música of the Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (UANL) and at Universidad Panamericana (UP) in México; director of the independent studio Música Viva. She is frequently invited to give workshops, lectures throughout Mexico and abroad. She has been piano solosist of the symphony orchestras of the UANL, and those of Matanzas and Santiago in Cuba besides being currently active as a collaborative pianist. From 2012-2016 Elda Nelly was the general coordinator of the Mexican Dalcroze Certification Program at the Conservtorio de las Rosas in Morelia, Michoacán, and currently she is the general coordinator of Programas Dalcroze at UP. She holds a PhD in Psychology from the UANL (Summa Cum Laude), Bachelor and Master of Music in Piano Literature and Pedagogy from The University of Texas at Austin; Dalcroze Certificate and License from Carnegie Mellon University. She has received several awards such as Prize of the Arts in Auditive Arts (UANL 2009), Grant for international artistic residences FORCA Noreste 2010 and Program for Joint Research Matías Romero 2016-2017 from the Secretary of Foreign Relations of the Mexican government.

Dr. Treviño´s research interests are: the positive effects of Dalcroze Eurhythmics and musical training in general in different domains of life.  Contact: www.musicaviva.com.mx

 

Masterclass #9

December 12/13, 2020 with Andrew Davidson (ENGLAND)
"A Dalcroze Masterclass with Andrew Davidson"

Saturday, December 12 (Americas, Europe, Africa) at 11:00am PST / 12:00pm MST / 1:00pm CDT & CDMX / 2:00pm EST / 19:00 GMT (7:00pm) London
Sunday, December 13 (Asia, Australia) at 3:00am Western Australia & Singapore / 4:00am Tokyo / 6:00am Sydney

Andrew Davidson is an Australian theatre director and musician based in London. He is a qualified teacher of Dalcroze Eurhythmics and the Kodály Concept of Music Education. Andrew has taught music at all levels and has presented at conferences and workshops internationally. Andrew is a full-time Teaching Fellow in Acting & Musical Theatre at the Guildford School of Acting (GSA), University of Surrey. He is the former Head of Dramatic Arts at the Australian Institute of Music (AIM), Sydney. Andrew is a graduate of Australia’s National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA). He holds the Kodály Certificate (BKA), the Dalcroze Certificate (Dalcroze Australia), and the Dalcroze Licence and Master of Music (Longy School of Music, USA). He is a current candidate for the Diplôme Supérieur Méthode Jaques-Dalcroze (IJD). As a dance accompanist, Andrew plays piano regularly for classes at The Place, London.

Source: https://dalcroze.org.uk/andrew-davidson/