Carnegie Mellon University

Board of Directors

June 19, 2020

Welcome to our newest Osher at CMU Board Members, and Goodbye to those leaving!

A new fiscal and board year will begin for Osher at CMU on July 1, 2020.  That means new officers.  Those officers will be  Alan Hribar, President; Jan Hawkins, Vice President; Marcia Taylor, continuing as Treasurer; and Ann Augustine, Secretary.  Our thanks go to those who are finishing their roles.  John Olmsted will rotate off of the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors after two very strong years on the Executive Committee in the role of immediate past president.  That in turn was following two outstanding years as president of the board.  Our thanks to John and our gratitude that he will continue to teach for Osher and to serve on our 4.0 Steering Committee helping to get us ready for our eventual move to Cyert. Jim Reitz will remain on the Executive committee but move from president to immediate past president. These will be our leaders for 2020 to 2021. Thanks in advance for an upcoming year, expected to demand a lot of them in time and efforts.

Leaving the board after serving six years will be, in addition to John, Gary Bates, who has also been on the curriculum committee, heads up the lecture committee and plans all of the Patron of the Arts gatherings.  Thank you, Gary.  Coming on the board will be – Sankar Seetharama, Rich Wellins and Ann Augustine.  Ann filled in this past year for a board member who left and now has ben elected to a full 3 year term.  She is also chair of the membership/social committee and secretary of the BOD.