Members-Student Government - Carnegie Mellon University

Executive Branch Members

The Executive Branch of the Student Government is composed of the Student Body President, Student Body Vice President, Student Body Vice President for Finance, Student Body Vice President for Organizations, the Undergraduate Student Senate Chair, and the Graduate Student Assembly President.

As elected representatives of both the undergraduate and graduate student populations on campus, the Executives work to improve the overall student experience. While each year the Executives make their own agenda regarding the projects and initiatives that they want to work on, their main jurisdiction always involves the support of student organizations.

Student Body President


JR Mashall

JR Marshall is a senior from Pittsburgh Pennsylvania and a double-major in Policy and Management and Chinese Studies. The principal founder of the Pennsylvania Rho chapter of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity, A Scotch N' Soda member, Chief of Staff for two former student-body presidents and Carnegie Mellon Enactus Board Presentation Chairman, JR is excited and honored to serve the Student Body of Carnegie Mellon. In his free time, JR enjoys following and participating in his passions of baseball and musical theater.



Student Body Vice President


Jibby Ayo-Ani

Jibby is a senior Information Systems major from Bowie, MD. She is a Resident Assistant for Mudge house, the founder and student leader of Chi Rho, and is the Producer for Lunar Gala. She served as the Vice President of Panhellenic for Delta Gamma Fraternity and is a member of Global Public Health Brigades. She has been involved with the Andrew Carnegie Society, CMU Emergency Medical Services, Dancer’s Symposium, COMPASS, and CMU Telefund.




Student Body Vice President for Finance


Ben Zhang

Ben Zhang is a senior double majoring in mathematics and economics. Last year he was a Senator and member of the JFC and looks forward to his new role as VPF. On campus, Ben is a brother of Delta Tau Delta and a member of the booth committee on Spring Carnival. Born in the United Kingdom and a dual citizen of the US and Canada, Ben enjoys biking and is a fan of ice hockey.


Student Body Vice President for Organizations


Trevor Hadick

Trevor Hadick is a Junior from Rochester, NY majoring in Chemical Engineering with a double major in Engineering and Public Policy. Last year he served as a member of the Student Body President's cabinet. Outside of student government he serves on the executive board for both the Men's Club Soccer team, and Fringe. Also, has served on several committees and boards for the College of Engineering, including his current role as a member of the College of Engineering's Community Building Committee (CBC). In his free time, Trevor enjoys intramural sports, Netflix, traveling and the great outdoors.


Graduate Student Assembly President


Carolyn Commer

Carolyn Commer is a Ph.D. candidate in Rhetoric in the English Department, where she researches higher education policy and teaches courses in professional writing, rhetorical grammar, and non-profit advocacy. Born and raised in the suburbs of Detroit, Carolyn left the Midwest for the Pacific Northwest to pursue her B.A. in Liberal Arts at The Evergreen State College. She also has a Master's degree in Liberal Arts from St. John's College, Annapolis. She enjoys calligraphy, mint-chocolate ice cream, and kickboxing.


Undergraduate Student Senate


Julia Eddy

Julia Eddy is from West Hartford, Connecticut and is a Senior studying Decision Science. She has served as Academic Affairs Chair and Vice Chair of Senate as well as a mentor in McGill. She has worked to improve the campus smoking policy and issues relating to sexual assault and relationship violence prevention. This year she will be a Resident Assistant in Webster Hall and President of the Pittsburgh Student Government Council, as well as a fellow with Young People For. In her free time she enjoys exploring Pittsburgh, spending time outdoors, and traveling. ​​​