The 2014 Student Writing Award Winners-Department of English - Carnegie Mellon University

Saturday, June 14, 2014

The 2014 Student Writing Award Winners

Adamson Awards

Each year the Adamson Student Writing Awards are presented for students who excel in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, screenwriting, and writing for academic journals. The awards are given in honor of Pauline B. Adamson at the bequest of her husband, the late Clarence H. Adamson, as a testimonial to their marriage and her interest in the English Language and American Literature. Winners are selected by off-campus writers and the awards are presented at a formal event in the spring. Below are the winners of the 2014 Adamson Student Writing Awards:


First Place: Samuel French

Second Place: Matthew Mastricova

Third Place: Laura Berry

Honorable Mention: Christopher Sickler

Hilary Masters Award in Literary Nonfiction

Sophie Zucker


First Place: Elana Goldberg

Second Place: Matthew Mastricova

Third Place: Rachel Bullen

Honorable Mention: Ivy Krislov, Snigdha Roy


First Place: Hannah Dellabella

Second Place: Rebecca Cobetto

Third Place: Samantha Dickinson

Honorable Mention: Sarah Horner, Christopher Sickler


First Place: Laura Berry

Second Place: Joshua Claudio

Third Place: Thomas Moore

Honorable Mention: Connie Chan, Linus Hamilton