2009 News-Department of English - Carnegie Mellon University

2009 News

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Operajita (MAPW'95) launches the Al Gore Sustainable Technology Venture Competition

Oopali Operajita (MAPW'95), CEO, Cicero, has launched the Al Gore Sustainable Technology Venture Competition,™   a competition for MBA, Engineering,and Science & Technology undergraduate (final year), and graduate students that focuses on bringing new sustainable and clean technologies to market through innovation and entrepreneurship.
Thursday, July 30, 2009

Linda Flower Wins RSA Book Award

At its anual conference in Minneapolis, the Rhetoric Society of America (RSA) announced Linda Flower's book, Community Literacy and the Rhetoric of
Public Engagement
the winner of its 2008 award for best book.
Tuesday, July 28, 2009

CW Alum Adam Atkinson and the Pittsburgh Literati

CMU Creative writing alumnus Adam Atkinson was featured in a story about the thriving literary scene in Pittsburgh, in Monday's Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. MORE
Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Hilary Masters Publishes Two Books in One Year

Hilary Masters, Professor of English and Creative writing was recently featured in an article in the Pittburgh Post-Gazette for accomplishing the rare taks of publishing two books in a single year. MORE
Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Suguru Ishizaki Wins James M. Lufkin Award

This year, the IEEE Professional Communication Society named Professor Suguru Ishizaki, Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Communication Design, winner of the  2009 James M. Lufkin Award for Best Paper. MORE
Thursday, June 11, 2009

Schriver and Hayes Win CPTSC Assessment Award

MAPW and  Rhetoric alumnus Karen Schriver has won this year's Council for Programs in Technical and Scientific Communication (CPTSC) Award for Excellence in Program Assessment with CMU Professor Dick Hayes (Psychology). MORE
Monday, June 1, 2009

PhD Candidate Mario Castagnaro wins Teaching Award

We are pleased to announce that English Ph.D. degree candidate Mario J. Castagnaro, has been selected as one of the 2009 co-winners of the H&SS Graduate Student Teaching Award. MORE
Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Terrance Hayes Wins Guggenheim Fellowship

Professor Terrance Hayes is a 2009 recipient of a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 2009 Guggenheim Fellowships.

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Technical Writing Program Alumni Honored by STC

Independent technical writer and CMU TW alumnus Janis Ramey was named a Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication at this year's conference in Atlanta.

Please contact our webmaster to submit a new story.

submit a story