Requirements and Guidelines-Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship - Carnegie Mellon University

Requirements and Guidelines

The McGinnis Venture Competition is a three-round business competition, the first two rounds are virtual and the final round is live. Submission requirements and guidelines can be found below.

Register

Teams interested in competing should carefully read the eligibility rules, requirements and guidelines and judging criteria (below).

Registration opens Tuesday, November 1, 2016 via Startup Compete.

Eligibility Details

Track Details

Requirements and Guidelines: Round 1

Requirements and Guidelines: Round 2

Requirements and Guidelines: Round 3

Confidentiality and Intellectual Property Guidelines

Judging Guidelines

Coaching Guidelines

CIE Calendar

2017 Important Dates & Deadlines

Tues, Nov 1: Registration Opens. 
View competition application requirements: Executive summary [pdf] and video pitch constraints via the Swartz Center website

Mon, Nov 28: Declaration of Intent to Compete Due; If you register via Startup Compete by this date you will be guaranteed to be assigned a coach for the rest of the competition; for those who register after November 28, we cannot guarantee that you will be assigned a coach for the competition

Thurs, Jan 19: Round 1 Submission Deadline at 11:59 PM EST.
Round 1 executive summary [pdf] and video pitch due

Fri, Jan 20: Round 1 judges can view team’s applications at 5:00 pm EST

Tues, Jan 31: Round 1 judging ends at 11:59 PM EST

Wed, Feb 1: Teams Notified; Round 2 begins at 5:00 PM EST

Sun, Feb 19: Round 2 Submission Deadline at 11:59 PM EST.
Round 2 updated executive summary [pdf] and video pitch due

Mon, Feb 20: Round 2 judges can view team’s applications at 5:00 PM EST

Wed, March 1: Round 2 judging ends at 11:59 PM EST

Thurs, March 2: Teams Notified; Round 3 Begins at 5:00 PM EST

Tues, March 14: Round 3 Mini-Business Plan [pdf] Due at 11:59 PM EST

Wed, March 15: Round 3 judges can view team’s applications at 5:00 PM EST

Tues, March 21: Live Final Round will be held at Carnegie Mellon University, Gates Hillman Center

Wed, March 22: Judges have until 5:00 PM EST to complete Startup Compete feedback