Carnegie Mellon University

Junior faculty chair honorees

November 04, 2021

Tepper School Professors Honored With Junior Faculty Chair Positions

Today, Carnegie Mellon University’s (CMU) Tepper School of Business awarded three professors with junior faculty chair positions for the 2021–2022 academic year.

Hui Li, Associate Professor of Marketing, has been named the Xerox Junior Faculty Chair and Andrew Li, Assistant Professor of Operations Research, is the BP America Junior Faculty Chair. In addition to the two new chairs, the Tepper School announced that Ben Moseley will continue in his role as the Carnegie Bosch Associate Professor of Operations Research.

Hui joined the Tepper School faculty in 2015, and her research focuses on quantitative marketing, dynamic pricing, consumer digital product consumption, two-sided platforms, and the sharing economy.

“It is a great honor to be named the Xerox Junior Faculty Chair for this school year,” said Hui. “I am following in the footsteps of several esteemed colleagues at the Tepper School that have previously held this position, and I’m grateful for the opportunity.”

Andrew has been an Assistant Professor of Operations Research at the Tepper School since 2018, where he studies machine learning, high-dimensional data analysis, e-commerce, personalized medicine, and stochastic modeling.

“I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve at the BP Junior Faculty Chair,” said Andrew. “It is an honor to be selected for this role, and I look forward to carrying out the duties associated with the position for the year.”

Ben will continue his role as Carnegie Bosch Associate Professor of Operations Research and Machine Learning, a position he has held since 2018. His research focuses on algorithms, operations research, machine learning, optimization, parallel and distributed algorithms, scheduling, network algorithms, and large data analysis.

“I greatly appreciate the opportunity to continue in my role of Carnegie Bosch Associate Professor of Operations Research and Machine Learning,” said Ben. “Holding this position for the last three years has provided great opportunities, and I look forward to maximizing all that the role has to offer for the next three years.”

Hui, Andrew, and Ben will be recognized at a ceremony and reception at the Tepper School, where Dean Isabelle Bajeux-Besnainou and Carnegie Mellon President Farnam Jahanian will highlight the faculty members’ contributions to the school.

“We take great pride in awarding these endowed professorships to our faculty. They symbolize the significant scholarly achievements and contributions each faculty member has made to the Tepper School, Carnegie Mellon University, and the broader academic community,” said Bajeux-Besnainou.