Carnegie Mellon University

Laurie Weingart

November 09, 2020

Laurie Weingart Honored with Prestigious INGRoup Lifetime Achievement Award

Laurie Weingart, Richard M. and Margaret S. Cyert Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory at Carnegie Mellon University’s Tepper School of Business, has been honored with the Joseph E. McGrath Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Study of Groups by the Interdisciplinary Network for Group Research (INGRoup). This award goes to an individual whose work has shown an enduring commitment to advancing the interdisciplinary science of team or small group behavior, dynamics, and outcomes.

“Receiving an award for a lifetime achievement is an incredible honor and has given me the opportunity to reflect back on the beginnings and path of my career,” said Weingart.

“This award is deeply meaningful to me. I am honored to be recognized in this way, and to have my name added to the list of scholars associated with a giant like Joe McGrath."

INGRoup was founded in 2005 by Weingart and four colleagues from the fields of communication and social psychology. INGRoup was created to promote group research across fields and nations, advance understanding about group dynamics through research, foster interest in group research among junior scholars, promote and support the next generations of group scholars, and develop a sense of community for those who study groups. Weingart served as the inaugural president of INGRoup from 2007-2012.

“My research, and this association, were a labor of love, developed collaboratively by teams of incredibly brilliant and motivated scholars who knew how to get things done. Teams that I was privileged to be a part of,” Weingart noted.

Weingart’s research focuses on collaboration, conflict, and negotiation, with a focus on how differences across people (e.g., discipline, gender, culture) both help and hinder effective problem solving, innovation, and dispute resolution. She is best known for her groundbreaking research on effective group processes, conflict, and multi-party negotiation.

"I am so pleased that Laurie has been recognized for her immense contributions to interdisciplinary research on groups and teams as the recipient of the Joseph E. McGrath Award,” said Dean Isabelle Bajeux-Besnainou.

“Her trailblazing research has advanced the study of group processes, negotiation, and team innovation across fields. Her award underscores the level of expertise at the Tepper School in the field of organizational behavior.”

Weingart collaborates with colleagues spanning disciplines, publishing in top academic journals in management, psychology, and economics. An influential scholar whose work is widely cited, she is an elected Fellow of the Academy of Management, the International Association for Conflict Management, the Society of Organizational Behavior, and the Society for Experimental and Social Psychology. Her research has received best paper awards from Small Group Research, the International Association of Conflict Management, and the Academy of Management.

Weingart currently co-leads the Collaboration and Conflict Research Lab at the Tepper School.

From 2014–2017, she served as the Senior Associate Dean of Education at the Tepper School. She served as the Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer at Carnegie Mellon from July 2017 to December 2018, where she was responsible for the academic mission of the university.

Weingart came to the Tepper School after earning her Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University in 1989.

As part of the award, Weingart is a lifetime member of INGRoup.