Carnegie Mellon University

Omicron Delta Epsilon Zoom ceremony

May 15, 2020

Undergraduate Economics Inducts Omicron Delta Epsilon Honorees

On April 21, 2020, the Undergraduate Economics Program welcomed 24 junior and senior students into the Omicron Delta Epsilon economics honor society. They join 12 current senior members who were inducted at last year's ceremony.

Typically honored during a formal event in the spring, this year's inductees joined a virtual ceremony via Zoom led by Chris Telmer, Associate Professor of Financial Economics, Head of Economics.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is an international academic honor society recognizing outstanding scholastic achievements in economics. In addition to conferring student honors, ODE publishes a research journal, The American Economist, and sponsors the Irving Fisher and Frank W. Taussig competitions. The Carnegie Mellon University chapter started in 1969.

In order to be inducted, CMU students must be pursuing an economics degree; must have completed at least 36 units of economics courses including Principles of Economics, Intermediate Microeconomics, and Intermediate Macroeconomics; and must have attained at least a 3.33 quality point average in both economics courses and all courses taken at the university.

Students in ODE represent excellence across the university with this year's inductees pursuing primary majors in the College of Fine Arts, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Mellon College of Science in addition to the Tepper School.

One of the current members, senior economics student Shlok Goyal, was recently awarded the Charles Phillips Outstanding Student Leadership Award for his contributions to the ODE chapter at Carnegie Mellon.

Omicron Delta Epsilon Economics Honor Society Members

  • Connie Chau
  • Yiyun Chen
  • Mark Dempsey
  • Anushka Dhyani
  • Selina Du
  • Jack Dunbar
  • Alexander Dziadosz
  • Ryanne Ege
  • Aditya Darshan Gandhi
  • Lingfeng Gao
  • Shlok Goyal
  • Sanchi Gupta
  • Peijie He
  • Chloe Ireland
  • Jiyoung Kim
  • Young Jun Kim
  • Ryan Labriola
  • Yedin Lui
  • Stacey Lum
  • Harshini Malli
  • Malavika Mandapati
  • Kevin Ouyang
  • Ally Moon
  • Vasily Potanin
  • Jae Ho Rhee
  • Omkar Sakhawalkar
  • Yuyuan Shao
  • Yanan Shi
  • Prisha Singh
  • Neha Srivastava
  • Amy Tsai
  • Chongyan Tu
  • Shwetha Venkatesh
  • Liam Walsh
  • Lauren Wholey
  • Sarah Zebar