Carnegie Mellon University

Sevin Yeltekin

March 20, 2020

Sevin Yeltekin, Professor of Economics, Has Been Awarded the Rohet Tolani Distinguished Chair

Sevin Yeltekin, Senior Associate Dean of Education and leader of the Tepper Blockchain Initiative at the Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University, has been awarded the Rohet Tolani Distinguished Chair.

Dr. Yeltekin is a leading macroeconomist, whose research involves the design of sustainable monetary and fiscal policies in environments where policymakers and the public have informational asymmetry with a focus on macroeconomics, fiscal policy design, social insurance design, computational economics and asset pricing implications of macro policy. A respected educator, as well as researcher, she was awarded the George Leland Bach Excellence in Teaching Award in 2014 and held the Frank A. and Helen E. Risch Faculty Development Professorship in Business from 2007-2010.

“An endowed professorship is an acknowledgment of sustained achievements in research and leadership at the highest level,” said Dean Robert Dammon. “We are honored to award this esteemed professorship to Sevin, who has not only established herself as an outstanding teacher and researcher, she has made significant contributions to the Tepper School’s overall educational mission through her work as senior associate dean of education.

The Rohet Tolani Professorship was created through a generous gift from Rohet Tolani, MSIA 1977. Rohet and Arshna Tolani established the Rohet Tolani Distinguished Professorship in August 2008. The distinguished professor who holds this chair must be a senior, tenured faculty member of the Tepper School with an eminent record of research accomplishments and a commitment to teaching.