Carnegie Mellon University

Metro21: The People

Metro21: Smart Cities Initiative's innovative projects and cutting-edge solutions are making a difference. Researchers are shaping public policy innovations and developing and deploying transportation, information and communications technologies to transform urban environments and enhance quality of life.

Partner with CMU to stay on the forward edge of smart city solutions. Contact our world-renowned leaders and join us on the road to our best future.

photo of Karen Lightman

Karen Lightman

Executive Director

photo of Raj Rajkumar

Dr. Raj Rajkumar

Director & Co-Founder

George Westinghouse Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

photo of Rick Stafford

Rick Stafford

Distinguished Fellow

Distinguished Service Professor of Public Policy and former Director of the Traffic21 Institute

Executive Committee

An Executive Committee at the university guides The Metro21: Smart Cities Initiative. The committee's members include: