Carnegie Mellon University

Commencement

May 13-15, 2022

Diploma Ceremonies

Each year during Commencement weekend, schools, colleges and departments host diploma ceremonies to honor their students and distribute diplomas.

A student's department or college is determined by their major. Dual degree students who are receiving two diplomas may participate in both ceremonies, if scheduling permits.

Diploma ceremony times and locations are subject to change. Check back often for the most up-to-date information!

Graduating students were asked to register for commencement weekend by Friday, March 25. If you would like to participate in your diploma ceremony but have not yet registered, contact your department coordinator listed below.

indicates off-campus location
+ indicates shuttle transportation available

Architecture+

Friday, May 13

Reception: 10:30 a.m.
Music Hall Foyer, Carnegie Museum*
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Ceremony: Noon
Music Hall, Carnegie Museum*

Contact:
Heather Workinger
haw5@andrew.cmu.edu

Art

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 3 p.m.
Philip Chosky Theater, Purnell Center

Reception: 4 p.m.
Miller Institute for Contemporary Art, Purnell Center

Contact:
Mark Cato
mdcato@andrew.cmu.edu

412-268-1531

BXA Intercollege Degree Programs

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 8:30 a.m.
Kresge Theatre, Alumni Concert Hall & Great Hall
College of Fine Arts

Contact:
Emily Syes
esyes@andrew.cmu.edu 
412-268-7690

Biological Sciences (Master's)+

Friday, May 13

Ceremony: 9:30 a.m.
Auditorium, Mellon Institute

Reception: Following the ceremony
Social & Conference Rooms, Mellon Institute

Contact: 
DJ Brasier
dbrasier@andrew.cmu.edu 

Biological Sciences (Bachelor's and Doctor's)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 9:30 a.m.
McConomy Auditorium, Cohon University Center

Reception: 11:30 a.m.
4th Floor Foyer & Library, Mellon Institute

Contact: 
Krystalyn Kovacss
krystalyn@cmu.edu

Amanda Willard
awillard@cmu.edu

Ena Miceli
emiceli@andrew.cmu.edu 

Biomedical Engineering

Friday, May 13

Reception: 5:30 p.m.
Ceremony: 6:45 p.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Kristin Kropf
kgaluska@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-3955

Business Administration & Economics (Bachelor's)+

Sunday, May 15

Reception & Ceremony: 1:15 p.m.
Auditorium, Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hall & Museum*
4141 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Jennifer Wegner 
jwegner@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-8685

Chemical Engineering

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 10 a.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Reception: 12:30 p.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center
McKenna/Peter/Wright Rooms available for overflow

Contact:
Nora Siewiorek
norann@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-1566

Chemistry+

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 1 p.m.
328, 348, Fourth Floor Lobby & Second Floor Auditorium (274K)
Mellon Institute

Contact:
Karen Stump
ks01@andrew.cmu.edu 
412-268-2340

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony: 1 p.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Reception: 2:30 p.m.
Tartans Pavilion

Contact:
Heather Cain
hcain@andrew.cmu.edu 
412-268-3192

Data Analytics for Science (MS-DAS)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 10:30 a.m.
Bosch Spark Conference Room & Lobby, Scott Hall

Contact:
Gwen Stanczak
gwens@cmu.edu
412-268-1956

Design

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 8:30 a.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Melissa Cicozi
mw2d@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-2828

Drama

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 5:30 p.m.
Philip Chosky Theater & Lobby, Purnell Center

Contact:
Amy Nichols
nicholsa@andrew.cmu.edu

Economics (Bachelor's)+

Sunday, May 15

Reception & Ceremony: 1:15 p.m.
Auditorium, Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hall & Museum*
4141 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Undergraduate Economics Program
econprog@andrew.cmu.edu 

Electrical & Computer Engineering (2020/21 Master's)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 5 p.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center
McConomy Auditorium will be used for overflow

Reception: Following the ceremony
McKenna/Peter/Wright Rooms & Schatz Dining Room, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Kimmy Nguyen
myn@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Electrical & Computer Engineering (2022 Master's)+

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 5:30 p.m.
Auditorium, Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hall & Museum*
4141 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Shuttle service will not be availalable after the ceremony

Contact:
Kimmy Nguyen
myn@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Electrical & Computer Engineering (2020/21 Bachelor's)

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 2 p.m.
McConomy Auditorium & Connan Room, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Kimmy Nguyen
myn@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Electrical & Computer Engineering (2022 Bachelor's)

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony: 5 p.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Reception: Following the ceremony
Rangos Ballroom & Schatz Dining Room, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Kimmy Nguyen
myn@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Electrical & Computer Engineering (Doctor's)

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10 a.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Kimmy Nguyen
myn@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Energy Science, Technology & Policy

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 9 a.m.
Singleton Room, Roberts Engineering Hall

Contact:
Justin Puglisi
jpuglisi@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-2947

Engineering & Public Policy and Engineering & Technology Innovation Management

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 7:30 a.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Debbie Scappatura 
ds73@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7138

Victoria Finney
vicki@cmu.edu
412-401-0246

Julie Mull
jmull@andrew.cmu.edu 

English

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10 a.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Laura E. Donaldson (Bachelor's Graduates)
ldonalds@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-3089

Jen Loughran (Master's and Doctoral Graduates)
jackson1@andrew.cmu.edu 

Entertainment Technology Center (2020/21 Graduates)

Saturday, May 14

Reception, Dinner & Ceremony: 4 p.m.
UPMC West Lounge, Heinz Field*
100 Art Rooney Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Contact: 
Janice Metz
jmetz@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-6035

Entertainment Technology Center (2022 Graduates)

Sunday, May 15

Reception, Dinner & Ceremony: 4 p.m.
UPMC West Lounge, Heinz Field*
100 Art Rooney Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Contact: 
Janice Metz
jmetz@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-6035

General, Multidisciplinary and Student-Defined Studies

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10 a.m.
Bosch/Spark Conference Room, Scott Hall

Contact:
Colleen Mollenauer
cmollena@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-3027

Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 11 a.m.
Petersen Events Center, University of Pittsburgh*
3719 Terrace Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15261

Contact:
Sandy Harris
sh4d@andrew.cmu.edu 
412-268-5148

Annie Julian
ajulian@cmu.edu 
412-268-4463

History

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 8 a.m.
Room 100/Gregg Hall, Porter Hall

Contact:
Andrew Ramey
aramey@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7906

Amanda Katz
alkatz@andrew.cmu.edu 

Information Networking Institute

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 4 p.m.
Rodef Shalom Congregation*
4905 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Jessica Becker 
jbecker23@cmu.edu
412-268-7691

Information Systems (Dietrich and Heinz Colleges)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 2:30 p.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Susan Miller
smmiller@andrew.cmu.edu

Shawna Pace
shawnap@andrew.cmu.edu 

Institute for Politics & Strategy

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 9:30 a.m.
Kresge Theatre (ceremony) & Alumni Concert Hall (reception)
College of Fine Arts

Contact:
Emily Half
ehalf@andrew.cmu.edu 

Integrated Innovation Institute

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10:30 a.m.
Rashid Auditorium & Lobby, Gates Hillman Center

Contact:
Gabi Rogers
grogers@andrew.cmu
412-268-8672

Leia Delabahan
leia.delabahan@sv.cmu.edu
650-335-2842

Emma Zink
emmazink@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-6808

Integrated Innovation Institute (Software Management)

Sunday, August 14

The MSSM Diploma Ceremony will take place in Silicon Valley. More information will be sent directly to eligible graduates

Contact:
Leia Delabahan
leia.delabahan@sv.cmu.edu
650-335-2842

Emma Zink
emmazink@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-6808

Materials Science & Engineering

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: 9 a.m.
Philip Chosky Theater & Lobby, Purnell Center

Contact:
Suzanne B. Smith
sb3n@andrew.cmu.edu
412-721-7660

Mathematical Sciences+

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony: 1 p.m.
Simmons Auditorium, Tepper School of Business

Reception: Following the ceremony
Phipps Conservatory*
1 Schenley Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Christine Gilchrist
cgilchri@andrew.cmu.edu 
412-268-7154

Mechanical Engineering

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 9:30 a.m.
Music Hall, Carnegie Museum*
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Reception: Noon
Music Hall Foyer, Carnegie Museum*

Contact:
Mechanical Engineering Department
412-268-2500

Modern Languages

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 9 a.m.
Room A35, Posner Hall

Reception: 10 a.m.
Grand Room, Posner Hall

Contact:
Sue Connelly
sc7k@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-5669

Music

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: Noon
Philip Chosky Theater, Purnell Center

Reception: 1:30 p.m.
Alumni Concert Hall & Great Hall
College of Fine Arts

Contact:
Dan Fernandez
fernandez@cmu.edu
412-268-4921

Neuroscience Institute

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 9:30 a.m.
Room 130, Mellon Institute

Contact:
Melissa Stupka
mstupka@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-8362

Philosophy

Sunday, May 15

Reception: 7:30 a.m.
Coffee Lounge, Baker Hall Lower Level

Ceremony: 8:30 a.m.
Giant Eagle Auditorium (BH A51), Baker Hall

Contact:
Mary Grace Joseph
mjoseph@andrew.cmu.edu

Patrick Doyle
pdoyle2@andrew.cmu.edu 

Physics

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 1 p.m.
Philip Chosky Theater & Lobby, Purnell Center

Contact:
Amanda Bodnar
bodnara@andrew.cmu.edu

Gillian Ryan
gryan@andrew.cmu.edu

Psychology

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 1:30 p.m.
Rangos Ballroom, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Emilie O'Leary
emilier@andrew.cmu.edu

School of Computer Science (Master's)+

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10:30 a.m.
Auditorium, Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hall & Museum*
4141 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Catherine Copetas
commencement@cs.cmu.edu
412-268-8525

School of Computer Science (Doctor's)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony & Reception: NEW TIME: 1:30 p.m.
NEW LOCATION: Music Hall, Carnegie Museum*
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Catherine Copetas
commencement@cs.cmu.edu
412-268-8525

School of Computer Science (Bachelor's)+

Sunday, May 15

Ceremony & Reception: 1:30 p.m.
Music Hall & Lobby, Carnegie Museum*
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Catherine Copetas
commencement@cs.cmu.edu
412-268-8525

Social & Decision Sciences

Saturday, May 14

Reception: 11:30 a.m.
Schatz Dining Room, General Motors Dining Room and Connan Room
Cohon University Center

Ceremony: 12:30 p.m.
McConomy Auditorium, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Connie Angermeier
cla2@andrew.cmu.edu

Statistics & Data Science (Master's and Doctor's)

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: 10 a.m.
Philip Chosky Theater & Lobby, Purnell Center

Contact:
Teraya White (Master's)
terayaw@andrew.cmu.edu

Danielle Hamilton (Doctor's)
daniellt@andrew.cmu.edu 

Statistics & Data Science (Bachelor's)

Saturday, May 14

Reception: 6:30 p.m.
Connon Room and Kirr Commons, Cohon University Center

Ceremony: 7:30 p.m.
Wiegand Gym, Cohon University Center

Contact:
Jessica Paschke
jpaschke@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-3365

Tepper School of Business (Master's 2020/21)

Friday, May 13

Ceremony: 11 a.m.
Simmons Auditorium, Tepper School of Business

Contact:
Joyce Schoderbek
jmaszle@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7060

Tepper School of Business (Master's 2022)

Saturday, May 14

Ceremony: 11 a.m.
Auditorium, Sailors & Soldiers Memorial Hall & Museum*
4141 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Contact:
Joyce Schoderbek
jmaszle@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-7060

Tepper School of Business (Doctor's 2020/21/22)

Friday, May 13

Ceremony & Reception: Noon
Room 4242, Tepper School of Business

Contact:
Lawrence Rapp
lrapp@andrew.cmu.edu