Carnegie Mellon University

Virtual Conferral of Degrees

Congratulations to the Class of 2020! On Sunday, May 17, the CMU community came together around the globe to celebrate your success. If you were unable to attend or if you’d like to watch the program again, check out the Virtual Conferral of Degrees video below!

James E. Rohr, Chair, CMU Board of Trustees

Welcome Remarks
Farnam Jahanian, President

Welcome to New Alumni
Alex DiClaudio (DC 2009, HNZ 2011), President, Alumni Association Board

Undergraduate Student Speaker
Ana Torubara (DC 2020)

Graduate Student Speaker
Shannon Gallagher (MCS 2015, DC 2015, 2019)

Deans' Messages
Gina Casalegno, Vice President, Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Robert Dammon, Dean, Tepper School of Business
Rebecca W. Doerge, Dean, Mellon College of Science
Martial Hebert, Dean, School of Computer Science
Ramayya Krishnan, Dean, Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy
Dan J. Martin, Dean, College of Fine Arts
William H. Sanders, Dean, College of Engineering
Richard Scheines, Dean, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Michael Trick, Dean, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar

Conferral of Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral Degrees
Farnam Jahanian, President
James H. Garrett, Jr. (COE 1982, 1983, 1986), Provost and Chief Academic Officer

Closing Remarks
Farnam Jahanian, President

Experience the Full Program

Get the full conferral experience by watching the pre-show, CMU Pipe and Drum Band processional and CMU Pipe and Drum Band recessional videos as well!


CMU Pipe and Drum Band Processional

CMU Pipe and Drum Band Recessional

Alumni Messages

CMU is fortunate to have a large network of active alumni, many of whom were eager to share their congratulations with the Class of 2020. Check out the videos below to see the full-length messages that were submitted by the alumni who participated in the Virtual Conferral of Degrees. Read through additional congratulatory messages and words of encouragement from other alumni across the globe on the Alumni Association website.

Luis Von Ahn (CS 2003, 2005)
CEO and Co-Founder, Duolingo, Inc.

Keith Block (DC 1984, HNZ 1984)
CMU Trustee and Former Co-CEO, Salesforce

Carmen Yulia Cruz (HNZ 1986)
Mayor of San Juan, Puerto Rico

Ted Danson (CFA 1972)
Actor, Ocean Advocate

Larry Jennings (MCS 1984, TPR 1987)
CMU Trustee and Senior Managing Director, ValStone Partners, LLC

Susie Lee (DC 1989, HNZ 1990)
United States Representative (NEV-3)

Leslie Odom Jr. (CFA 2003)
Tony and Grammy Award Winning performer

Brian Olsavsky (TPR 1989)
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Amazon

Billy Porter (CFA 1991)
Actor, Singer, Writer, Director

Matt Rogers (E 2004, 2005)
Founder of Nest and

David Tepper (MBA 1982)
CMU Trustee and President and Founder, Appaloosa L.P.

Tamara Tunie (CFA 1981)
Actor, Producer, Director, Entertainment Consultant

Ming-Na Wen (CFA 1986)
Actor, Producer, Disney Legend

Use #CMUgrad or #TartanProud to join the conversation!