Distinguished alumnus John Hall (S'56,'61) shares this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for his contributions enabling scientists to precisely measure the speed of light out to 15 digits. He received the award in Sweden on December 10.

Hall, who called the award “a huge responsibility as well as honor,” credits the “broad, multifaceted training” he received while studying physics at Carnegie Tech with providing the confidence and initiative needed to carry his research projects forward.

Hall earned his bachelor’s degree in 1956 and doctorate in physics in 1961.

While at Tech, he met his future wife, Marilyn “Lindy” Hall, a 1957 graduate of Margaret Morrison.

Dr. Hall joins the distinctive company of 14 other Carnegie Mellon faculty and alumni who have won the Nobel Prize.

Clinton J. Davisson, 1937 in physics (faculty)
Otto Stern, 1943 in physics (faculty)
Paul J. Flory, 1974 in chemistry (faculty)
Herbert A. Simon, 1978 in economics (faculty)
Franco Modigliani, 1985 in economics (faculty)
Merton H. Miller, 1990 in economics (faculty)
John F. Nash Jr. (S’48), 1994 in economics
Clifford Shull (S’37), 1994 in physics
Robert E. Lucas Jr., 1995 in economics (faculty)
John A. Pople, 1998 in chemistry (faculty)
Walter Kohn, 1998 in chemistry (faculty)
Paul Lauterbur, 2003 in physiology or medicine (faculty)
Finn E. Kydland (TPR'73,'74), 2004 in economics (faculty)
Edward C. Prescott (TPR'67), 2004 in economics

Related Links:
The 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences