Carnegie Mellon University

Lectures and Panels

View photos from the event below.

50th Anniversary: Panels & Lectures
The Future of Work

The Future of Work: Technologies and their Societal Impact

A panel of CMU experts will discuss the ethical and policy issues that surround AI—how it will reshape jobs, organizations, political allegiances and even economic opportunities.

Moderator: Ramayya Krishnan, Dean, H. John Heinz III College and William W. and Ruth F. Cooper Professor of Management Science and Information Systems

Lee Branstetter, Professor of Economics and Public Policy
David Danks, Philosophy Department Head and L.L. Thurstone Professor of Philosophy and Psychology
Erica Fuchs, Professor of Engineering and Public Policy
Tom Mitchell, E. Fredkin University Professor
Anita Woolley, Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory

Founding Lessons

Founding Lessons

CMU alumni have a long history of shaping and disrupting fields from performance to production.  Hear the stories of three such alumni and the lessons they learned along the way.

Moderator: Farnam Jahanian, Interim President

Denée Benton (A 2014)
Glen de Vries (S 1994)
Luis von Ahn (CS 2003, 2005)

Women Leaders

Trailblazers: Advancing Women @ CMU

Hear some of CMU’s most accomplished and celebrated women faculty leaders discuss their careers and how they develop other women, encouraging them to take risks, advance within their professions and transform their fields.

Moderator: Laurie Weingart, Interim Provost and Richard M. and Margaret S. Cyert Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory

Marlene Berhman, George A. and Helen Dunham Cowan Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience
Lenore Blum, Distinguished Professor of Computer Science
Jelena Kovačević, Hamerschlag University Professor and Head of Electrical and Computer Engineering

AI Initiative

The AI Initiative

Discover why CMU was part of the birth of artificial intelligence and why it’s still the leader, and hear from distinguished CMU faculty on the AI emerging trends.

Moderator: Andrew Moore, Dean, School of Computer Science

Manuela VelosoHerbert A. Simon University Professor and Head of Machine Learning Department, School of Computer Science
Deva Ramanan, Associate Professor, Robotics Institute
Claire Le Goues, Assistant Professor, Institute for Software Research, School of Computer Science