Nick Tsarevsky (S'05) Won the National Starch & Chemical Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry-Mellon College of Science - Carnegie Mellon University

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Nick Tsarevsky (S'05) Won the National Starch & Chemical Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry

Nicolay (Nick) Tsarevsky (S ’05) has won the 2008 National Starch and Chemical Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry. The award, which recognizes the best in graduate polymer science and engineering research, was presented at symposium honoring Tsarevsky at the 236th national meeting of the American Chemical Society in Philadelphia, August 17-21, 2008.

Speaking at the symposium were Steven P. Armes of the University of Sheffield, Karen L. Wooley of Washington University, Brent S. Sumerlin of Southern Methodist University, Heather D. Maynard of the University of California, Los Angeles, Christopher W. Bielawski of the University of Texas at Austin, and Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Tsarevsky’s Ph.D. advisor at Carnegie Mellon. 

“Nick has an extremely broad knowledge of the field and has the most genuine love for chemistry I have seen,” said Matyjaszewski. “Winning this award for his contributions to the field will be considered one of his early accolades, as I’m sure there are many more successes in his future.”

Tsarevsky received his doctoral degree in chemistry from Carnegie Mellon in 2005.  During this time he studied the synthesis of well-defined functional polymers using atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP) as well as the mechanisms behind ATRP. Through his work in the Matyjaszewski lab, the scope of ATRP has been significantly expanded with ATRP becoming a “green” method with increased use by industry.

In 2003, Tsarevsky received the ACS Hancock Memorial Scholarship in Green Chemistry. He has published 47 peer-reviewed articles in the scientific literature and written five book chapters, as well as a textbook. Tsarevsky is currently serving as Chief Science Officer for ATRP Solutions, a spin-off company based on research in the Matyjaszewski group.

The National Starch and Chemical Award was established in 1991 and is sponsored by the National Starch and Chemical Company, a global manufacturer of adhesives, specialty polymers, electronic materials and specialty starches.


Jocelyn Duffy