Carnegie Mellon University

2024 Tony Award Winners

Carnegie Mellon University congratulates CMU alumni Will Brill, Jamie deRoy and Billy Porter, who was recognized at the 77th annual Tony Awards. Brill, deRoy and Porter increase the number of Tonys received by Carnegie Mellon alumni to 64.

Will Brill

Will Brill

Class of 2009

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play

Stereophonic — Reg

Will Brill appears in the Broadway production of “Stereophonic,” having also been part of the play’s run at Playwrights Horizons. Previous Broadway credits include: "Act One," "You Can't Take It with You" and the reimagined 75th-anniversary revival of "Oklahoma!." Brill’s television credits include “The OA,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and Showtime’s acclaimed political thriller/love story, “Fellow Travelers,” in which he portrays the infamous lawyer Roy Cohn.

Jamie deRoy

Jamie deRoy

Class of 1967

Best Play

Stereophonic — Producer

Best Revival of a Musical

Merrily We Roll Along — Producer

Jamie deRoy is a show business tour de force — an award-winning producer; cabaret, stage, film and TV performer; recording artist/producer and humanitarian. In addition to twelve Tony Awards, Jamie has won nine MAC Awards, nine Drama Desk awards, two Audience Choice Awards, 10 Drama League Awards, three GLAAD Awards, four BackStage Bistro Awards, numerous Telly Awards and CaB Magazine’s Lifetime Achievement Award. She has been honored by Theatre Works/USA, Primary Stages and the Ruth Kurtzman MAC Award. A frequent presence on the New York nightclub scene, Jamie has produced nine CDs in the Jamie deRoy & friends series on Harbinger and PS Classics labels. Her long-running shows benefit her favorite charitable causes, including “The Actors Fund: Jamie deRoy & friends Cabaret Initiative,” a program to assist people in the cabaret industry with help for medical needs and concerns. Jamie’s has co-produced over 80 Broadway shows and 50 off-Broadway shows.

Billy Porter

Billy Porter

Class of 1991

2024 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Billy Porter is a Grammy, Emmy, and three-time Tony Award winner. Porter was awarded Tonys for Best Leading Actor in a Musical for "Kinky Boots" in 2013 and for Best Musical as a producer for "A Strange Loop" in 2022. His most recent Tony was for the 2024 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award, recognizing his outstanding dedication and contributions as an activist and spokesperson for the LGBTQ+ communities, including his work with The Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation (ETAF) and the Entertainment Community Fund, among other organizations.