Carnegie Mellon University

Past Recipients

The Andy Awards program began in 1995 and honored nominees in three categories: Satisfying Customers, Increasing Productivity and University Citizenship. While the categories and nomination procedure have evolved over the past two decades, the spirit of the Andy Awards remains the same-to serve as a tribute to the spirit of teamwork and dedication embodied by the staff at Carnegie Mellon University.

Below are the most recent Andy Awards recipients. Information listed reflects the recipient at the time of the award. For a complete history, please contact University Events.


Commitment to Excellence

Christina Cowan
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Commitment to Students

Kevin Collins
Career and Professional Development Center

Innovative and Creative Contributions

Pam Wigley
College of Fine Arts


Patti Steranchak
Engineering and Public Policy

Teamwork and Collaboration

Network Convergence Team

Josh Emerson, Steve Snodgrass, Matt Nickerson and Ronald Zack
Computing Services


Commitment to Excellence

Don Campbell
University Police

Commitment to Students

Brian Fernandes
Enrollment Services

Innovative and Creative Contributions

Rhonda Kloss
Sponsored Projects Accounting


Paul Gerlach (A 1967, 1968, 1972)
Office of Student Affairs

Teamwork and Collaboration

CMUWorks Project Team

Linda Schmidt, Bob Riddle, Deanne Weaver, Jeff Houser, Kim Abel and Karen Eck
Human Resources, Finance and Computing Services


Commitment to Students

Rubab Jafry O'Connor (HNZ 2005) 
Tepper School of Business

Community Contributions

Leonard Gelfand Center for Service Learning and Outreach Drivers Team

Leon “Pete” Smith and William Taylor
Leonard Gelfand Center


Diane Stidle
Machine Learning


Charles Gitzen


Treshea Wade (HNZ 2014)
Tepper School of Business

University Citizenship

Joe Rudman (DC 1974, 1983)