Awards & Fellowships-School of Architecture - Carnegie Mellon University

School of Architecture Awards

Annual SoArch Awards

The AvroKO Interdisciplinary Award for Art & Architecture is intended to encourage and support interdisciplinary student projects between the Schools of Art and Architecture.  

The Gindroz Prize, provides a $7500 travel award to support a third or fourth-year student in the Schools of Architecture or Music pursuing independent study in European towns and cities. It recognizes the life-changing potential of becoming immersed in a culture, language, and environment that is different from one’s own.

The Ferguson Jacobs Prize encourages design excellence based on long-standing design principles that promote beauty and harmony in the built environment. The prize is awarded to faculty and to students in alternating years. 

The Measuring & Monitoring Services, Inc. Internship Fund provides $3000 of financial support to a School of Architecture undergraduate student who wishes to supplement a paid summer internship, to volunteer for a non-profit or non-government organization, or to participate in a research project with a CMU faculty member.

The Karen Myres and Arthur Lubetz Internship Fund provides financial support to undergraduate students who are undertaking summer internships or related programs in artistic venues under the guidance of established professionals. The award provides up to $400 per week and up to $4000 in total for an internship of six to ten weeks duration.

Annual Third-Year Scholarship Award

The Richard M. Gensert Memorial Scholarship is given to students whose design work expresses sensitive consideration of structural issues and their relationship to architecture.

Fourth-Year Design Awards

Students are nominated for fourth-year design awards by the Head and faculty on the basis of their academic work.

The Burdett Assistantship provides support to students pursuing their first professional degrees in Architecture.

The Luther S. Lashmit Award is given annually to a fourth-year student for the purpose of travel.

The John Knox Shear Memorial Traveling Scholarship recipient is selected from eligible students based on a review of their work by the faculty. The recipient is expected to use the funds towards travel.

The Louis F. Valentour Traveling Scholarship Fund was established for undergraduate students in Architecture who have completed their fourth year of study. The award is intended for travel outside the continental U.S.

Graduate Student Award

The George W. Anderson Jr. Award may be awarded to a graduate student studying in the School of Architecture who demonstrates, through their work, “an exceptional level of attention to detail AND dedication to beneficially impacting the community". 

Alumni Award

Highlands Travel Fellowship is open to alum and named in honor of Professor Delbert Highlands. In keeping with Professor Highlands’ thinking and contributions to the School, the Fellowship supports the study of collections belonging to locales. It is intended that the experience of the Fellowship directly support the professional development of individual awardees to the end of contributing to the richness of our surroundings. This fellowship is offered every other year.
View Presentation by 2010 Winner: Can Tiryaki 
View Presentation by 2012 Winner: William Henry Riehm