Carnegie Mellon University

About Middle States Accreditation

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) is a global institutional accreditor recognized by the United States Secretary of Education since 1952. As an accreditor and member of the regulatory triad, MSCHE assures students and the public of the educational quality for its over 500 institutions of higher education. The Commission’s accreditation process ensures institutional accountability, self-appraisal, improvement, and innovation through peer review and the rigorous application of standards within the context of institutional mission.

MSCHE is an institutional accreditor, and  institutions are examined as a whole rather than specific programs within institutions. Accreditation reviews examine all aspects, levels and locations of a university including: educational activities; student learning outcomes; resources (human, financial, physical, and technical); governance; administration; policies; admissions; student services; and assessment practices. 

MSCHE is recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) to conduct accreditation and pre-accreditation (candidacy status) activities for institutions of higher education, including distance education and correspondence education programs offered at those institutions, throughout the United States. USDE recognizes accrediting agencies deemed authorities on the quality of higher education. Under the Higher Education Act’s (HEA’s) federal student aid programs, accrediting agencies recognized by the United States Department of Education must meet the Department’s regulatory criteria. MSCHE is a Title IV gatekeeper and is a link to federal programs, and institutions access Title IV through MSCHE accreditation.

An institution must be accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education in order to be eligible to participate in Title IV (i.e., federal financial aid) programs, which include federal loans, grants, and work-study.

Carnegie Mellon was most recently reaccredited in June 2018.