Disable Publishing-Templates and CMS - Carnegie Mellon University

Disable Publishing

By default, all items you create in the CMS will automatically be set for publishing, however there are circumstances in which you may need to disable publishing for certain items.

  • If you are in the process of revising part of a website and there's a chance that another person may submit a publish job that would publish your revisions prematurely, you will want to disable publishing for the section you're working on.
  • If you are keeping an item in the CMS for backup purposes and do not wish to make it available on the website, you will want to disable publishing for that item.
  • Disabling publishing for certain items can significantly reduce the size of your site-wide publishing jobs. If you have folders dedicated to storing images or PDFs, these folders usually don't need to be republished every time you do a site-wide publish. Site-wide publishes are necessary to update navigation on pages, so by disabling the files from being published you are minimizing your publishing job to include only what's necessary.

To disable publishing of an item, follow the steps below.

  1. Select the item in the folder structure.
  2. Click the Edit > System.
  3. Uncheck the box for Include when publishing.

    Disable Publishing
  4. Click Submit.

The item will no longer be included in any publishes performed in the CMS. If you try to publish something that has been disabled from publishing, you will receive an error message (see below). If an item has not been disabled from publishing and you receive the error message, check the setting for its parent folders.

Error displayed with publishing has been disabled