Delete an Item-Templates and CMS - Carnegie Mellon University

Delete an Item

Deleted items are stored in the Recycle Bin for fifteen days before permanently removed. There are two methods of deleting an item; the preferred method depends on the number of items you delete at one time.

Delete Using the More Tab

To delete a single item, use the More tab. IMPORTANT: If you select a folder, all of the contents will be deleted within it.

  1. Select the item.
  2. Click More > Delete.
  3. Be sure the Un-publish Content option is checked; this will remove the item from the live website.
  4. Click Submit. A confirmation displays when the item is deleted.

Delete Using the Drop-Down Menu

To be selective of multiple items to delete, use the drop-down menu near the bottom.

  1. Select the folder that contains the items you want to delete.
  2. Check each item you want to delete
  3. Select Delete from the drop-down menu.
    Delete Multiple Items
  4. Check the un-publish option to remove the items from the live website.
    Confirm Deletion
  5. Click Submit. A confirmation displays when the item is deleted.