Chemical Engineering - Carnegie Mellon University

Grossmann receives Honorary Doctorate from Russian Kazan National ...

Professor Ignacio E. Grossmann was awarded with the Diploma of Honorary Doctor of Kazan National Research Technological University (KNRTU) in Kazan, Republic of Tatarstan, ... Read More »

Current Headlines:

April 12, 2017 Larry Biegler awarded ASEE Lectureship Award

April 11, 2017 Lauren Reylea received professional promise award

April 10, 2017 Alex Cerny Names CMWA Winner

March 1, 2017 Senior Maya Holay wins 1st place in GW Prize

February 23, 2017 Neil Donahue Wins Prestigous Esselen Award

January 17, 2017 Bob Tilton Named Editor of Colloids and Surfaces

January 9, 2017 CIT Faculty Feature: Ignacio Grossman

About The Department of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon

The Department of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon is one of the premier chemical engineering departments in the country. It has a 100+ year history of innovation and creativity in both teaching and in research. Our primary missions are to educate undergraduate and graduate students, and to discover and disseminate knowledge through research. The department is committed to achieving excellence in these activities, and evaluates the success and leadership of its programs using the highest standards of quality, innovation, and visibility, while at the same time providing a friendly and supportive atmosphere. Our students will acquire strong fundamental skills complemented by professional skills including the ability to communicate and work in teams. Our goal is to produce students and faculty who will become leaders in their areas.

The department currently includes 21 faculty members and several adjunct professors. The student body includes approximately 200 undergraduates, 90 PhD and 100 Master's students (MChE, MS), with 25 postdoctoral research fellows and visitors. The department awards 60-70 BS degrees, 50 MChE/MS degrees, and 20 PhD degrees each year. All faculty are engaged in research and teaching.

Five faculty are members of the National Academy of Engineering:
Lorenz T. Biegler

Ignacio E. Grossmann

Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

Jeffrey J. Siirola

Arthur Westerberg

Many faculty have received major national awards from AIChE, ACS, ASEE, AAAS, and Dreyfus and Sloan Foundations. The department has excellent computational and experimental facilities, for both teaching and research. The department is housed in Doherty Hall which has undergone a $28 million renovation, creating state-of-the art research and teaching facilities.