Theatre Education Award-CMU & the Tony Awards - Carnegie Mellon University

Nominations for the Excellence in Theatre Education Award are closed. Thanks for your interest in this year's award. We'll be joining the Tony Awards in late spring to announce the finalists. 

What is the Excellence in Theatre Education Award?

This annual award recognizes a K-12 theatre educator in the U.S. who embodies the highest standards of the profession. Demonstrating a positive impact on the lives of students, advancing the theatre profession and a commitment to excellence.

How do I nominate an educator?

The nominations are now closed. Nominators can view the criteria for the Excellence in Theatre Education Award.

How is the winning educator selected?

A panel of judges comprised of the American Theatre Wing, The Broadway League, Carnegie Mellon University and other leaders from the theatre industry will select the finalists and winner based on the aforementioned criteria set forth by the committee.

The winning educator will receive the "Excellence in Theatre Education Award Presented by Carnegie Mellon University and The Tony Awards" on stage at the 2015 Tony Awards. The trip to New York City will be included, plus a financial contribution will be made to the theatre arts program at the winner's school.

When will the finalists be announced?

The award finalists will be announced in the spring and each will receive an honorarium and attend the Tony Awards at Radio City Music Hall on June 7, 2015.

Why Carnegie Mellon University?

CMU's School of Drama is the oldest drama degree-granting program in the United States and celebrated its centennial in 2014. In the past century, CMU has produced hundreds of Tony nominees and 37 Tony Awards.

Watch CMU alumni Matt Bomer and Zachary Quinto announce the Excellence in Theatre Education Award at the Tony Awards on June 8, 2014.