Ryan Award-Celebration of Education - Carnegie Mellon University

The William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching

2014 Ryan Award Recipient

Anne MundellAnne Mundell

Associate Professor of Scenic Design, School of Drama

Anne Mundell is an associate professor of scenic design, teaching or co-teaching classes such as Explorations in Scenic Design, Scenic Design Boot-camp, Scenic Design Skills and Design Thesis. Anne is also the director of Growing Theater Outreach, a program in its fourteenth year, that pairs Carnegie Mellon student mentors with third graders from an at-risk population as they write and produce a play over the course of eight months.

Anne is one of the founding partners of The Roboceptionist project, an internationally recognized collaboration designed to make robots more approachable by giving them personalities and making them part of everyday life. One of Anne's collaborative Roboceptionist projects, a chatbot named Athina, is part of a permanent collection called "Roboworld" at the Carnegie Science Center, and on campus, Victor the Scrabblebot and Tank the Roboceptionist are two permanent fixtures in the Gates Center and Newell-Simon Hall.

In 2007, Anne won the Henry Hornbostel Teaching Award for excellence in undergraduate teaching and advising in the College of Fine Arts, and in 2014 she was awarded the Robert Frankel Award for contribution to the arts by City Theatre.

Anne traveled to South Africa to help lead Self-Start, a program designed to help career artists get projects launched in summer 2013, from which a number of ventures have sprung in Africa and Zimbabwe. Anne also worked to develop a summer experience for CMU students in Edinburgh, Scotland, that ran successfully for two years. Anne continues her professional work as a scene designer and has designed and painted scenery for hundreds of projects and numerous venues throughout the United States. In 2014, she has worked on scenery and costumes for a remount of The Chief, at Pittsburgh Public Theater, scenery for two productions at City Theatre, Grounded and Hope and Gravity and for the Maltz Jupiter Theatre in Florida, Other Desert Cities. Her work can be viewed at www.annemundell.com.

The William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching is given annually to a full-time faculty member at Carnegie Mellon who has demonstrated unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate or graduate students.

The award is intended to recognize excellence in teaching in several dimensions:

  • outstanding classroom teaching
  • creation of challenging and innovative courses
  • creation or use of new and innovative teaching methods and course materials
  • effective supervision of research or creative projects
  • effective supervision of undergraduate honors students and graduate students