Celebration of Education - Carnegie Mellon University

Celebration of Education

The Celebration of Education recognizes the accomplishments of those who exemplify the university's standards of excellence in education. This event celebrates our distinguished faculty members and educators for their outstanding contributions to the university and their devotion to and effectiveness in teaching. It consists of six main awards: the Doherty Award, Ryan Award, Academic Advising Award, Barbara Lazarus Award, Gelfand Award and the Teaching Innovation Award. In addition, the most recent Wimmer Faculty Fellows and recipients of the College Teaching Awards, Graduate Student Teaching Award and Graduate Student Service Award are also recognized.

2017 Celebration of Education

Thursday, April 27
Ceremony begins promptly at 4:30 p.m.
A reception will immediately follow.
Rangos 1 and 2, second floor, Cohon University Center

Congratulations to this year's award recipients.

Doherty Award

Mary Shaw
A.J. Perlis University Professor of Computer Science, Institute for Software Research

Ryan Award

Laurence Ales
Associate Professor of Economics, Tepper School of Business

Academic Advising Award

Emily Half
Academic Program Manager, Institute for Politics and Strategy

Barbara Lazarus Award

Mitchell Small
H. John Heinz III Professor of Environmental Engineering, Departments of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Engineering & Public Policy

Gelfand Award

Catalina Achim
Professor, Department of Chemistry

Teaching Innovation Award

D.J. Brasier, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, and Maggie Braun, Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences; Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, Mellon College of Science

Daragh Byrne
Assistant Teaching Professor, School of Architecture

MCS First-Year Seminar Committee

Ryan Tibshirani
Associate Professor, Departments of Statistics and Machine Learning

David Yaron
Professor, Department of Chemistry

The recipients of the College Teaching Awards, Graduate Student Awards, and the most recent Wimmer Faculty Fellows will also be recognized at the event.