Carnegie Mellon University

Sustainability Initiative Steering Committee


David Dzombak

University Professor and Department Head, Civil and Environmental Engineering


Steven Guenther

University Engineer and Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management and Campus Services


Alexandra Hiniker

Executive Fellow for Sustainability Initiatives


Sarah Mendelson

Distinguished Service Professor Of Public Policy and Head Of Heinz College In Washington, DC

Sustainability Initiative Advisory Council

Nina Baird, School of Architecture, College of Fine Arts

Don Coffelt, Facilities Management and Campus Services

Neil Donahue, Steinbrenner Institute, Mellon College of Science, College of Engineering

Evan Feder, Vice President, Campus Affairs

Rayid Ghani, Machine Learning Department, School of Computer Science and Heinz College

Lauren Henry, Senior Director, Alumni and Constituent Engagement

Vivian Loftness, School of Architecture, College of Fine Arts

Nick Muller, Tepper School of Business, College of Engineering 

Dan Nagin, Heinz College

Kathryn Posko, Heinz College graduate student

Elizabeth “Lib” Rosemeyer, Office of Title IX Initiatives

Edmund Russell, Professor of History, Dietrich College

Peter Scupelli, School of Design, College of Fine Arts

Liz Vaughan, Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Director of SLICE

Anna Siefken, Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation

Rick Siger, Office of the President

M. Shernell Smith, Executive Director of the Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion

Deborah Steinberg, Green Practices and Sustainability Manager

Madeleine Timko, Director of Sustainability, Presidents Cabinet

Keith Webster, University Libraries