Carnegie Mellon President Jared L. Cohon Appointed to National Security Higher Education Advisory Board
Carnegie Mellon Today

Carnegie Mellon Today

Carnegie Mellon News Services Home Page

President Jared L. Cohon Named to National Security Higher Education Advisory Board

Carnegie Mellon President Jared L. Cohon
Carnegie Mellon President Jared L. Cohon has been appointed to the National Security Higher Education Advisory Board created by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The board, which will consist of the presidents and chancellors of several prominent U.S. universities, is designed to foster outreach and to promote understanding between higher education and the FBI.

The board will provide advice on the culture of higher education, including the traditions of openness, academic freedom and international collaboration. The board will seek to establish lines of communication on national priorities pertaining to terrorism, counterintelligence and homeland security. It also will assist in the development of research, degree programs, course work, internships, and opportunities for graduates and faculty related to national security.

"As we do our work, we wish to be sensitive to university concerns about international students, visas, technology export policy and the special culture of colleges and universities," said FBI Director Robert S. Mueller III. "We also want to foster exchanges between academia and the FBI in order to develop curricula which will aid in attracting the best and brightest students to careers in the law enforcement and intelligence communities."

The board will meet collectively at least three times a year in Washington, D.C., while individual presidents often will be invited to meetings of relevant working groups in the regions of their universities. The board will begin meeting this fall.

Other members of the board include:

  • Graham B. Spanier, chair, president, Pennsylvania State University
  • William Brody, president, Johns Hopkins University
  • Albert Carnesale, chancellor, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Marye Ann Fox, chancellor, University of California, San Diego
  • Robert Gates, president, Texas A&M University
  • Gregory Geoffroy, president, Iowa State University
  • Amy Gutmann, president, University of Pennsylvania
  • David C. Hardesty Jr., president, West Virginia University
  • Susan Hockfield, president, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Martin Jischke, president, Purdue University
  • Bernard Machen, president, University of Florida
  • James Moeser, chancellor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • C.D. Mote, president, University of Maryland, College Park
  • John Wiley, chancellor, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Mark Emmert, president, University of Washington

September 16, 2005

Carnegie Mellon Home