Dickson Prize - Carnegie Mellon University

Dickson Prize in Science

Honoring Joseph M. DeSimone

Departments of Chemistry and Pharmacology, Institute for Advanced Materials, Institute for Nanomedicine, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, North Carolina State University

Award Ceremony and Lecture

Monday, February 16, 2015
4:30 p.m.
McConomy Auditorium, first floor, Cohon University Center

A light reception will immediately follow in Rangos 3, second floor, Cohon University Center.

Lecture Topic: Breakthroughs in Imprint Lithography and 3D Additive Fabrication

There is a renaissance underway today in research that is being fueled by the DIY (do-it-yourself) culture that is generally referred to as the "Makers Movement". The maker culture exploits new tools for fabrication and encourages invention and rapid prototyping. Such tools in combination with an innovative mindset will make major impacts in many fields, including drug delivery technologies. This lecture will describe breakthroughs in the Makers Movement - including an off-shoot of imprint lithography used to mold individual drug particles and drug delivery vehicles, and a pioneering advance in 3D additive manufacturing that is continuous, moldless, and no longer layer-by-layer.

Joseph M. DeSimone

The Dickson Prize in Science is awarded annually to the person who has been judged by Carnegie Mellon University to have made the most progress in the scientific field in the United States for the year in question.

Dickson Prize Recipient