Spam Filter Settings
The spam filter gives you the following options for handling spam:
- Turn OFF spam filtering.
You WILL RECEIVE ALL email, this includes mail that our servers score as spam.
- Turn ON spam filtering and discard spam.
Email that is scored by our mail servers as spam AND mail that YOU designate as spam will be discarded.
This option is turned on when your Andrew account is created. If you have addresses listed in the spam filter's "Accept Mail" list, DO NOT use this option. This option DOES NOT consider that list before discarding spam. If you choose the option to discard spam, there is a chance that you may delete a valid email message.
- Turn ON spam filtering and store spam in the spam mailbox you designate.
Email that is scored by our mail servers as spam AND mail that YOU designate as spam will be stored in the designated mailbox (folder). Email from addresses that are included in the "Accept Mail" list WILL be delivered to you. This option is NOT available if you have mail forwarding turned on.
Store Spam in a Mailbox
If you choose to store spam in a designated mailbox (folder), first create the mailbox in your email client (e.g., Outlook, Entourage). Next, visit Email Tools and enter the name of the mailbox that you want to store your spam in.
Accept and Filter Mail Lists
The Accept list and Filter list options are tools for customizing your Spam Filter.
Note: These options are NOT available if you have mail forwarding turned on.
- The Accept Mail List allows you to identify email addresses or domains that you always want to accept mail from even if the campus email system would normally filter the mail. The mail that is received from the addresses or domains on the Accept Mail List will be delivered to your INBOX. IMPORTANT: The Accept Mail list is NOT REFERENCED when the option to DISCARD SPAM is selected.
- The Filter Mail List allows you to specify email addresses and domains that you NEVER want to accept mail from. Mail received from email addresses or domains on the Filter list will automatically be stored or discarded depending on the filter option that you selected. Note: The Accept list always takes precedence over the Filter list.