Carnegie Mellon University Website Home Page
 

Naming a Designate

Through the Access Rights dialog box, you can name a Designate. This enables that individual(s) the right to view, modify or reply to your Entries. Follow these steps to name a Designate.

Using the Desktop Client

  1. Select Tools > Access Rights. The Access Rights dialog box appears.
  2. To name a Designate to your calendar schedule, click on the Designate tab.
  3. Enter the name of the Designate in the Edit box, then click the checkmark or press Enter.
    Note: If you don't know the name, you can search for it by clicking on the Search button (magnifying glass).
  4. The name of the new Designate appears in the list. With the name of the new Designate highlighted, you can set their access rights. Refer to the Access Rights section of the Using the Andrew Calendar Desktop Client document for help to set "Viewing" access rights.
  5. Depending on your operating system, do one of the following:
    • Windows: With the name of the new Designate highlighted, select the checkboxes to choose what rights the Designate will have.
    • Mac: With the name of the new Designate highlighted, uncheck the Defaults checkbox.
  6. For Meetings, Day Events and Daily Notes, there are three options for each level:
    • Modify: The Designate will have the right to modify your Entries.
    • View/Reply: The Designate will be able to see your complete Entries and reply to invitations in your name.
    • View times only: The Designate will only have the right to view the times of your Meetings (if you choose this option, the Designate will not see Daily Notes or Day Events with this Access level in your Agenda).
  7. You can assign different rights to different types of Entries, according to the Access level you have assigned your Entries.

    Note: The Designate Right checkboxes (i.e., Full Designate Rights, and No Designate Rights) must be deselected in order to be able to select the individual checkboxes described above. See the graphic above or read the next step for more details.

  8. Instead of setting the rights for each type of Entry individually, you can choose to grant the user:
    • Full Designate Rights: The user will be able to view and modify all Entries.
    • No Designate Rights: The user will have no Designate Rights in your Agenda.
  9. To set Designate rights for your Tasks, select the appropriate checkboxes on the right side of the Access Rights dialog box. When you allow Designate Rights to your Tasks, your Designate will either have full Designate Rights (i.e. right to both view and modify) or none at all.
  10. You can delete a name from the list of users with special Access Rights: select the name, then click Delete. They will then revert to having the same rights as the Default.

    Note: A user must have the right to modify Meetings, Day Events, or Daily Notes for at least one Access level in order to be able to open your Agenda as a Designate.

    Note: You can only delete meetings or events that you or someone who you are a designate for have created.

Using the Web Client

The Access Rights page allows you to set Access Rights for anyone who views your Agenda. Follow these steps.

  1. Click the Edit Access Rights icon. The Access Rights page appears.
  2. Select a user name from the list and click Edit Access Rights.
    • If you wish to add designate rights for someone who is not listed, type the user name and click Find. The user name is displayed in the list with an asterisk (*) to indicate that access rights have not been granted for that user. Now, select that user name and click Edit Access Rights.
  3. The Access Rights page for that user displays. Note that the page is divided into access rights for Viewing and Designate access rights. These steps describe Designate rights. Please see Using the Andrew Calendar Desktop Client for help to set "Viewing" access rights.
  4. Click Customize to edit the Designate access rights for Meetings, Day Events, Daily Notes or Tasks.
  5. Use the radio buttons to set designate rights (None, Modify, View/Reply, View times only) for each type of Meeting, Event or Note (Normal, Confidential, Personal, Public). Likewise, you may grant "modify" access for each type of Task.
  6. When you're finished setting the designate rights, click OK to save your changes.
Last Updated: 08/19/09