Carnegie Mellon University

Economics Graduate Mayowa Hannah Osinowo

B.A. in Economics 
Minor in Business Administration

As a senior reflecting on my time at Carnegie Mellon, I see that the Undergraduate Economics Program was the perfect place for me to "land" as a first-year student.    Even though I was uncertain of what I wanted to do and it took me a while to realize my interests, the program's curriculum was continually equipping me with a set of tools and skills that now positions me to succeed.

Why are studying economics?

I would say do things that make you happy and also try to experience things that push you out of your comfort zone. It's the way that you will grow.

Do you have advice for incoming CMU students?

Honestly, CMU is what you make it! Choose to surround yourself with positive, uplifting people, and your college experience will be a lot more fun. Also studying is important, but make sure to take some time away from studying for self care. It's just as important.

Do you have advice for students studying economics?

Don't be afraid to ask for help and keep your advisors in the loop. They are here to help you and to help you be the best student you can be.

Describe your typical weekday morning

Most days I wake up at between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. I usually skip breakfast and head to work for my shift at the Tepper Undergraduate Programs' Office from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on M,W,F. I usually grab my first meal at Tepper while I'm at work and then head to class until 1:20 p.m. On T,Thurs it's a similar pattern, but I start class at earlier and I'm done with class by 12:00 p.m.

Describe your typical weekday afternoon

My usual afternoon is pretty well booked. It's split between meetings pertaining to my startup, attending student organizations events, homework/class project meetings, quick hangouts with friends in the Center for Diversity and Inclusion, working out or attending Group X-cerise classes, and taking mid day naps as well!

Describe your typical weekday evening

Usually I'm done with classes around 1:30 p.m. So I spend the evenings (5:00 p.m. till late) doing homework/ studying or  attending group meetings for my classes.  I usually grab dinner on campus (the salad place most days) and watch Netflix. I study at home/dorm when I don't have group projects, and I usually go to sleep between 11:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m.

Describe your typical weekend

My typical weekend is doing homework or working on my start-up  in the mornings.  I then  work out, hang out with friends and attend student events on campus; and go to Southside with my friends on Friday or Saturday nights.