Carnegie Mellon University

Meet the Undergraduate Economics Leadership Team

Chris Telmer

Head, Economics Program

ales.jpgLaurence Ales

Director, Undergraduate Research in Economics



Carol B. Goldburg

Executive Director, Undergraduate Economics Program


kathleen_headshopt_600.png Kathleen Conway

Senior Academic Advisor and Program Manager, Undergraduate Economics Program

Economics-Educational Affairs Committee 

The Economics-Educational Affairs Committee  (1) provides counsel to the Program Head/Executive Director and input and feedback regarding the administration of the curriculum;   (2) oversight of the program and course offerings (see below); and (3) may also be consulted regarding actions related to students’ standing in the program and review of student appeals.

  • Chair: Chris Telmer
  • Dennis Epple
  • Carol Goldburg (non-voting)
  • Alexey Kushnir
  • Rebecca Lessem
  • Nick Muller
  • Maryam Saeedi (on leave Spring 2020)
  • Ali Shourideh (on leave Spring 2020)
  • Chris Sleet
  • Steve Spear
  • Sevin Yeltekin (non-voting)


Concentration Area Leaders

  • Advanced Quantitative Methods: David Childers
  • Market Design and the Digital Economics: Maryam Saeedi
  • Global Change and Disruption: Laurence Ales
  • Global Markets and Finance:  Chris Sleet
  • Policy and Social Change: Rebecca Lessem
  • Strategy and Markets: Onur Kesten