Carnegie Mellon University


November 14, 2018

Ph.D. Alumnus Elected INFORMS Fellow

The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences has elected Jayashankar Swaminathan (Ph.D. 1996) as an INFORMS Fellow in the Class of 2018, “for path-breaking research on novel operations management models and their implementation at commercial and non-profit organizations, and distinguished leadership and service contributions to the INFORMS community.”

Each year INFORMS recognizes about a dozen scholars in the field of operations research with a Fellow Award. The award honors individuals whose lifetime of work has contributed to furthering the science of operations research and the management sciences. 

Swaminathan is the GlaxoSmithKline Distinguished Professor of Operations at the Kenan-Flagler Business School of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His research and teaching cover global topics in operations, including agriculture, e-commerce, health care, supply chain, sustainability, and retail. His research has been recognized with several INFORMS awards, as well as a Faculty Early Career Development award from the National Science Foundation.

Several Tepper School faculty members have been elected as INFORMS Fellows since the award was established in 2002:

  • R. Ravi, Andris A. Zoltners Professor of Business, Rohet Tolani Distinguished Professor, Professor of Operations Research and Computer Science, in 2017.
  • Sridhar Tayur, Ford Distinguished Research Chair, Professor of Operations Management, in 2012.
  • Linda Argote, David M. Kirr and Barbara A. Kirr Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory; Director of the Center of Organizational Learning, Innovation, and Knowledge, in 2008.
  • John Hooker, T. Jerome Holleran Professor of Business Ethics and Social Responsibility, Professor of Operations Research, in 2007.
  • Michael Trick, Harry B. and James H. Higgins Professor of Operations Research, Dean of Carnegie Mellon University Qatar, in 2006.