Carnegie Mellon University
May 24, 2017

CMU Commencement and Tepper School Diploma Ceremonies Honored Graduates and Faculty

At the conclusion of each academic year, faculty members and students at the doctorate, masters and undergraduate levels are recognized for their achievements and contributions to the Tepper School of Business.

Winners of graduate (MBA, Master of Science in Computational Finance) and undergraduate (business, economics) student awards were also announced during the 2017 Tepper School Diploma Ceremony and Carnegie Mellon University Commencement Ceremony.

Gillian Tett, graduate keynote speaker and U.S. managing editor at the Financial Times, was honored with the Tepper School of Business Award for Professional Excellence.

Faculty Awards

2017 George Leland Bach Award (MBA) — William-Jan van Hoeve

This award was created in 1985 when the Graduate School of Industrial Administration Teaching Award, established in 1976, was renamed in honor of Dean Bach. “Lee” Bach was the visionary founding dean of Carnegie Mellon’s graduate business school, whose research and academic rigor dramatically altered U.S. business management education. The annual honoree for outstanding classroom instruction is chosen by the graduating MBA class from a list of faculty nominees.

Ph.D. Awards

The 2017 William W. Cooper Doctoral Dissertation Award in Management or Management Science — Eunhee Kim

“The Mechanism of Control in Organizations: Essays on Imperfect Measures of Managerial Talent” (Advisors: Carlos Corona, assistant professor of accounting, and Jonathan Glover, professor of accounting)

The 2017 Herbert A. Simon Doctoral Dissertation Award in Behavioral Research in the Administrative Sciences — Erin Fahrenkopf

“Knowledge Transfer by Employees Across Firm Boundaries: A Micro Process with Consequential Macro Outcomes” (Advisor: Linda Argote, Director of the Center of Organizational Learning, Innovation and Knowledge and David M. Kirr and Barbara A. Kirr Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory)

MBA Awards

  • Francis G. Walker Award for Excellence in Strategy — Mark Roderique
  • John R. Thorne Award for Excellence in Entrepreneurship — Austin Webb
  • Award for Academic Excellence in Finance — Jacob Jolly
  • Robert S. Sullivan Distinguished Community Service Award — Zac Talmadge
  • Award for Academic Excellence in Marketing — Ellen Lee
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award — Adam Caruso
  • Elliot Dunlap Smith Award for Excellence — David Dierker
  • Edward R. Mosier Award for Excellence in Production Operations — Adam Caruso
  • Yuji Ijiri Award for Excellence in Accounting — Matthew Haddix
  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards —  Yousuf Ahmed, Elizabeth Hargrave-Thomas, Swati Khushalani, Jonathan Martin and James McSweeney

MSCF Awards

  • Academic Excellence in Finance Award — Hailey Ren
  • Academic Excellence in Information Technology Award — Lichi Wu
  • Academic Excellence in Mathematics Award — Hailey Ren
  • Academic Excellence in Statistics Award — Lichi Wu
  • MSCF Distinguished Service Award (Pittsburgh) — Ajitesh Mehta
  • MSCF Distinguished Service Award (New York) — Whitney Ko and Yan Taumin

Undergraduate Business Awards

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award — Megan Strain, Min Zhou
  • Outstanding Student Leadership Award — Dalia Dorantes
  • Distinguished Service Award — Harsimran Minhas

Undergraduate Economics Awards

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement — Sung Jin Hong
  • Best Senior Thesis — Charlotte Townsend, “Bitcoins in the Black Market: Criminal Currency in the Twenty First-Century”
  • Best Senior Project — Raheela Ahsan, Lilia Bidzyan, Daniel Lee and Dee Dee Paik, “The Effects of EPA RVP Regulations on VOC Emissions”
  • Undergraduate Economics Program Distinguished Service to the Undergraduate Economics Program Award — Vaasavi Unnava
  • Undergraduate Economics Program Distinguished Service to the University Award — Gujri Singh
  • Omicron Delta Epsilon Honor Society Inductees — Mohin Banker, Peter Brady, Jiaqi Chen, Jian, Chao Huo, Jack Kroger, Ryan Lapre, Daniel Lee, Eric Li and Dorsa Massipour
  • Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Inductees — Peter Brady, Charlotte Townsend and Kunal Wadwani