Carnegie Mellon University
May 10, 2017

Outstanding Alumni Honored at Reunion Weekend 2017

The Tepper School recognized four high-achieving alumni at this year’s All-Class Reunion Celebration at Heinz Field.

“The exceptional reputation of the Tepper School owes much to the caliber of our alumni, who continue to outperform their peers,” said Dean Robert Dammon. “The four graduates honored with Tepper School Alumni Awards this year are among the strongest examples of powerful ambassadors for our school.”

Each year, several alumni are selected for Alumni Awards for their professional excellence and their impact on Tepper School community. “I am continuously impressed by how dedicated our alumni remain to their alma mater,” said John Sengenberger, executive director of Alumni Relations. “We are incredibly humbled to acknowledge the accomplishments and service of these alumni among their classmates at Reunion.”

The 2017 Alumni Awardees included

Tod S. Johnson, MSIA ’67, BSIM ’66

Tod Johnson
Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award

Tod Johnson was awarded the Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award. Johnson also earned the Carnegie Mellon Alumni Service Award in 1990, illustrating his continued dedication to the Tepper School of Business and the university.

Johnson is chairman and CEO of the NPD Group Inc., a global market research firm founded in 1966 that tracks consumer buying behavior. Under his direction and leadership the company has flourished, regularly ranking in the top 10 market research organizations by the independent “Honomichl Top 50 Report.” A widely recognized expert on brand loyalty and equity, Johnson holds several patents in the market research field. He previously served as the chairman and director of the Advertising Research Foundation and the founding chairman of the Council for Marketing and Opinion Research. Johnson has also been recognized with the Research Business Report Marketing Research Executive of the Year Award, and in 2011 he was inducted into the Market Research Council Hall of Fame.

Johnson has served on the Carnegie Mellon University Board of Trustees since 1980, of which he is the vice chairman and a member of the Advancement, Executive, and Nominating and Governance Committees. He became a life trustee in 1993.

David Mawhinney, MSIA ’90

David Mawhinney
Alumni Achievement Award

David “Dave” Mawhinney, executive director of the Swartz Center for Entrepreneurship, was recognized with the Alumni Achievement Award, acknowledging his accomplishments and leadership in his profession. The award upholds the highest values and traditions of the Tepper School of Business.

In addition to his leadership over the Swartz Center, Mawhinney is the executive director of the Donald H. Jones Center for Entrepreneurial Studies and an associate teaching professor of entrepreneurship at the Tepper School. Mawhinney brings his success as a serial entrepreneur into the classroom and to the university, mentoring students from across campus. Mawhinney also serves on the Donald H. Jones Center Advisory Board, is an advisory board member for Carnegie Mellon’s incubator Project Olympus, has participated in the Tepper School Reunion Committee, was a GSIA class agent, and has served on multiple alumni panels across the country.

Previously, Mawhinney was co-founder, chairman and CEO of mSpoke, an internet content and advertising recommendation engine that was acquired in by LinkedIn in 2010. He was also the general partner of PNC Technology Investors and has co-founded several successful startup ventures.

James Ostry, MSIA ’94

James Ostry
Alumni Service Award

James “Jim” Ostry was the winner of the Alumni Service Award, acknowledging volunteer service to the Tepper School of Business community and its alumni organizations, faithful and continued effort in maintaining alumni organizations, and assistance in expanding the influence and prestige of the school and the university.

Ostry, a dedicated alumnus, served on the Tepper School Alumni Board from 2011 to 2014, during which time he was on the inaugural alumni awards committee. Ostry is a current Chicago chapter volunteer and was previously the New York chapter president, and has hosted several events in New York and Chicago, including Chicago’s first Summer Welcome Reception. He has also served on Tepper School Reunion committees, and has been heavily involved in the Wall Street Alumni Network, serving as a panelist and moderating panel presentations for students and alumni in the New York City area.

Ostry currently serves as the co-head of Credit Suisse HOLT and is responsible for developing and executing the HOLT strategy, including leveraging HOLT with key clients, promoting the HOLT brand internally, and continuing the integration with the Equities franchise.

Swetha L. Arbuckle, MBA/HNZ ’09

Swetha Arbuckle
Recent Alumni Service Award

Swetha Arbuckle was awarded the Recent Alumni Service Award. This award recognizes professional accomplishments and service to the Tepper School of Business community by an individual who has graduated within the last 10 years.

Arbuckle actively contributes to the Tepper School community, serving as an admissions volunteer and participating in the Washington, D.C. chapter, for which she has served as president since 2015. She was leader of the Seattle chapter from 2009 to 2013, and has served on the Tepper School Reunion Committee. She was also a dedicated and engaged student during her time at the Tepper School. She received the Tepper School Distinguished Service Award, as well as a fellowship from the Forte Foundation.

Arbuckle has worked for Amazon’s human resources department since 2009, where she has been involved in the Tepper School recruiting team. She started at the company within the HR Leadership Development Program before advancing to several leadership roles, including as a senior HR business partner. She currently serves as principal human resources leader for Amazon Web Services, a role she has held since October 2016.