Carnegie Mellon University Website Home Page

Media Fellowships

Journalist Fellowship 

Each year, The Steinbrenner Institute names a select group of esteemed national media specialists to its Media Fellowship program. The invited journalists spend four days on the Carnegie Mellon campus, meeting faculty and getting a personal look at some of the university's environmental research.   The Steinbrenner Media Fellowships are designed to provide an opportunity for media specialists to expand their knowledge of environmental issues and to interact in depth with environmental engineers, scientists and policy analysts; increase exposure of Carnegie Mellon faculty specializing in environmental research to the media in a variety of sectors including print, broadcast, and online arenas; and provide the news media with immediate information for story development and ultimate publication. 

The 2008 Media Fellows:

Jeff Burnside, Producer, WTVJ NBC 6 Miami

Cheryl Hogue, Senior Editor, Chemical & Engineering News

Janet Raloff, Senior Editor-Policy, Science News

Roseanne Skirble, Senior Reporter, Voice of America

The 2007 Media Fellows:

Bette Hileman, Senior Editor, Chemical & Engineering News

John Sullivan, Editor, BNA’s Bureau of Environmental

Kara Sissell, Senior Editor, Chemical Week

2006 Media Fellows:

Zachary Coile, The San Francisco Chronicle

Catherine M. Cooney, Environmental Science and Technology

Chuck Quirmbach,  Wisconsin Public Radio/NPR affiliate

2005 Media Fellows:

Seth Borenstein,  Associated Press

Katherine Bouma, The Birmingham News

For more information about the Steinbrenner Institute Media Fellowship program please contact Chriss Swaney, Director of Public Relations (412.268.5776).