Carnegie Mellon University
November 30, 2021

Updates Impacting Travel from Some Countries in Southern Africa

The ongoing pandemic continues to cause changing international travel conditions and restrictions. On Friday, Nov. 26, the U.S. government announced new travel restrictions beginning Monday, Nov. 29. Travel from the Republic of Botswana, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Malawi, the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of South Africa and the Republic of Zimbabwe are restricted. At this time, students and scholars are subject to this geographic COVID-19 travel restriction, so we encourage those who intend to travel to the U.S. to avoid traveling to/through those countries. If and when these restrictions are lifted, or if students and scholars become exempt, we will post an update to our website.  

The Office of International Education (OIE) closely monitors all travel advisories. We will continue to communicate updates that have the potential to impact CMU students, families and scholars as clearly and quickly as possible. All CMU community members are encouraged to monitor conditions and government requirements of any countries they plan to travel to or through as policies continue to change. Students and scholars who have questions or concerns about upcoming travel plans may reach out to their OIE advisor.