Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

April 22: Carnegie Mellon's T.E. (Ed) Schlesinger To Receive David Edward Schramm Memorial Professorship


Chriss Swaney       

schlesingerCarnegie Mellon's T.E. (Ed) Schlesinger To Receive
David Edward Schramm Memorial Professorship

PITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University's T.E. (Ed) Schlesinger will be awarded the prestigious David Edward Schramm Memorial Professorship in the College of Engineering at 3 p.m., April 22 in the Singleton Room of Roberts Engineering Hall.
"This is a great honor, and I am grateful for the generosity of the Schramm family in endowing this chair," said Schlesinger, professor and head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (ECE) at Carnegie Mellon since February 2005. "It is a privilege to be a professor at Carnegie Mellon and serve as head of a dynamic, innovative and world-renowned department such as ECE. I appreciate the confidence expressed by the university in awarding this chair to me as I maintain my commitment to foster an environment for multidisciplinary research and educational excellence in ECE and throughout the college and the university."
The David Edward Schramm Memorial Professorship in the College of Engineering was created in memory of the late Charles Schramm, who earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from Carnegie Mellon in 1942.    
"Professor Schlesinger brings solid leadership and a tireless innovative drive to both his administrative duties as ECE Department head and as an outstanding researcher, and it is with great pride that we award him this outstanding professorship," said Pradeep K. Khosla, the Dowd University Professor, dean of Carnegie Mellon's top-ranked College of Engineering and founding director of Carnegie Mellon CyLab.
Schlesinger joined the Carnegie Mellon faculty in 1985. His research interests have spanned broad areas of technology in semiconductor and electro-optic materials, information storage and nanotechnology. He is a distinguished fellow of SPIE - the International Society of Optical Engineers.

He was founding co-director of the GM Collaborative Research Lab at Carnegie Mellon and is currently president of the ECE Department Heads Association. As associate department head of ECE from 1996 to 2004, he managed tremendous growth in the department, and helped to define a new, more flexible curriculum.
His teaching excellence netted him the prestigious Benjamin Richard Teare Award in 2001 from the College of Engineering. In 1998, he received both the Carnegie Science Center Scientist Award and also has been awarded two R&D 100 Awards for his work on nuclear detectors and electro-optic device technology. He is a 1999 recipient of a Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation. He has published more than 200 articles in research and academic journals and holds 11 patents.
Schlesinger earned a bachelor's degree in physics from the University of Toronto in 1980. He received a master's degree in applied physics in 1982 and a Ph.D. in applied physics in 1985, both from the California Institute of Technology.


Pictured above is T.E. (Ed) Schlesinger, head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.