Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

Oct. 20: Tepper School of Business Announces Honors for Two Distinguished Finance Professors


Mark Burd                            

Tepper School of Business Announces Honors
For Two Distinguished Finance Professors

Chester Spatt Receives Kenneth B. and Pamela R. Dunn Professorship;
Duane Seppi Named Mellon Bank Professor of Finance

Chester SpattPITTSBURGH—The Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University has announced honors for two of its distinguished finance professors. Chester S. Spatt has been named the Kenneth B. and Pamela R. Dunn Professor of Finance, and Duane J. Seppi has been appointed the Mellon Bank Professor of Finance at the Tepper School.
The Dunn Professorship recognizes Spatt's outstanding contributions to both the academic and financial communities throughout his career, and acknowledges his research, leadership and accomplishments at the Tepper School, where he has been a member of the faculty since 1979.
In addition to his professorial duties, Spatt served as the chief economist for the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) from 2004 to 2007. He is also former executive editor for the Review of Financial Studies. Spatt's research focuses on the issues of taxation and asset allocation with an emphasis on tax-deferred investing via utilization of various financial strategies.Duane Seppi
The Mellon Bank Chair recognizes Seppi's exceptional achievements in financial economics, including his research and classroom instruction, which focuses on market microstructure, energy and commodity derivative valuation, financial engineering and game theory. Seppi joined the Tepper School faculty in 1986.
Seppi is a member of the Tepper School's Master of Science in Computational Finance Steering Committee. As a committee member he has been instrumental in pioneering a unique interdisciplinary graduate degree program that links the fields of finance, mathematics, statistics and computer science. He received the George Leland Bach Award for Excellence in the Classroom in 2002, and currently serves on the editorial boards for the Journal of Finance and Review of Finance.  

Pictured above are Chester Spatt (top) and Duane Seppi.