Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

May 5: Carnegie Mellon's George Loewenstein Named Fellow of American Academy of Arts & Sciences


Kelli McElhinny                        

Carnegie Mellon's George Loewenstein Named
Fellow of American Academy of Arts & Sciences

PITTSBURGH—George Loewenstein, the Herbert A. Simon Professor of Economics and Psychology at Carnegie Mellon University, has been named a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. With this honor, Loewenstein joins nine of his Carnegie Mellon colleagues previously elected to the distinguished organization.
George Loewenstein The academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots to provide a forum for a select group of scholars and government and business leaders to collaborate on behalf of the nascent nation. Today, it continues to explore complex and emerging problems through multidisciplinary research. The academy's current membership includes some 200 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
In addition to Loewenstein, the group of 212 scholars, scientists, artists, and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders elected as 2008 fellows includes U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens, filmmakers Ethan and Joel Coen, blues guitarist B.B. King, Dell Computer founder Michael Dell and PepsiCo CEO Indra Nooyi. This year's class will be inducted at an Oct. 11 ceremony at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.
"I was thrilled to get the news about being inducted," Loewenstein said. "It's a huge honor to become part of a society that includes so many amazing, talented, people. It makes me feel very fortunate about being at a university that makes it so easy to be productive and that fosters interdisciplinary, collaborative research."     
Loewenstein, whose Carnegie Mellon appointment is in the Department of Social and Decision Sciences, is a behavioral economist whose research explores a wide range of subjects — from altruism to addiction to consumer behavior. Co-director of Carnegie Mellon's Center for Behavioral Decision Research, Loewenstein has authored or co-authored more than 100 journal articles and has served as a consultant to numerous organizations in the public and private sectors. He is also a fellow of the American Psychological Society.
The nine other Carnegie Mellon faculty members who are academy fellows are: Computer Science professors Raj Reddy, Takeo Kanade and Manuel Blum; Psychology professors John Anderson and Robyn Dawes (who sits in the Department of Social and Decision Sciences); Philosophy Professor Wilfried Sieg; Statistics Professor Stephen Fienberg; Philosophy and Statistics Professor Teddy Seidenfeld; and Computer Science, Philosophy and Mathematical Logic Professor Emeritus Dana Scott.