Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

May 22: Carnegie Mellon Selects Three Professors To Receive University's Highest Faculty Honor


Ken Walters                       

Carnegie Mellon Selects Clarke, Khosla and Nagin
To Receive University's Highest Faculty Honor   

Edmund ClarkePITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University professors Edmund M. Clarke, Pradeep K. Khosla and Daniel S. Nagin have been named University Professors, the highest distinction faculty can achieve at Carnegie Mellon.
Clarke is the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science. Khosla is the Philip and Marsha Dowd Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Robotics, and Nagin is the Teresa and H. John Heinz III Professor of Public Policy and Statistics.

"Designation as a University Professor is a distinction that is reserved for a very small fraction of our faculty," said Carnegie Mellon President Jared Cohon. "Ed Clarke, Pradeep Khosla and Dan Nagin are highly deserving of this honor, each having made exceptional contributions to their fields as well as outstanding contributions and leadership to the university." 
Clarke is known for his pioneering work on Model Checking, an automated method for finding design errors in hardware and software. Pradeep KhoslaClarke's work on Model Checking was recognized by the Association for Computing Machinery with the 2007 A.M. Turing Award, considered to be the most prestigious award in computing. Often referred to as the "Nobel Prize of computing," it is named for British mathematician Alan M. Turing. Clark shares the award with colleagues at the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Grenoble.

"Ed has made many contributions to his research field, and also to Carnegie Mellon in his teaching, his advising of students and his intellectual leadership," said Randal E. Bryant, dean of the School of Computer Science. "I am pleased that he has been given the title of University Professor, showing he is counted among our most distinguished faculty."

Khosla, who has also been dean of the College of Engineering since 2004, has demonstrated his leadership in research and education initiatives both within Carnegie Mellon and internationally. While director of Carnegie Mellon's Information Networking Institute, Khosla doubled its enrollment, created the Master of Science in Information Security Technology and Management program and developed Dan Nagininternational graduate programs with the Athens Information Technology Institute (AIT) in Athens, Greece (CyLab Athens), CyLab Korea and CyLab Japan. He is also the recipient of the Cyber Education Champion Award from the Business Software Alliance for his exceptional skill and commitment to teaching students and educators about the importance of technology innovation, cyber ethics and intellectual property issues.

"As a University Professor, Pradeep joins a distinguished group of peers who represent the intellectual leadership of Carnegie Mellon," said Mark Kamlet, Carnegie Mellon provost and senior vice president. "We are extremely pleased to make this prestigious appointment."

Nagin, who also serves as associate dean of faculty at the H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management, was the 2006 recipient of the Edwin H. Sutherland Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to theory or research in criminology. The American Society of Criminology's highest honor, the award was given to Nagin for his innovative research on the evolution of criminal behavior and for his development of related statistical methods. His research challenges the conventional wisdom that violence is a behavior learned during adolescence, instead showing that development origins of violence can be traced to the earliest stages of life. Nagin is on the editorial board of six journals and has participated in two MacArthur Foundation Networks.

"Dan's research has had a significant impact on not only criminologists, but also psychologists, medical researchers, urban geographers and many other disciplines," said Mark Wessel, dean of the Heinz School. "Beyond his research, he has made enormous contributions to Carnegie Mellon, as both a colleague to faculty and as a teacher and advisor to students. His recognition as a University Professor is well deserved."

Pictured above are Edmund M. Clarke (top), Pradeep K. Khosla and Daniel S. Nagin.