Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

Feb. 18: Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic Performs Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 7 in E Major


Eric Sloss                           

Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic Performs
Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 7 in E Major

PITTSBURGH — Thomas Baldner will guest conduct the Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic in Anton Bruckner's monumental Symphony No. 7 in E Major at 8 p.m., Wednesday, Feb. 20 at the Carnegie Music Hall in Oakland. Tickets are $5 for adults, $4 for seniors and free for Carnegie Mellon students with ID.

Bruckner's seventh symphony, written between 1881 and 1883, was immediately popular with audiences and critics. Although he mastered the craft of composition, Bruckner labored over the composition of his symphonies and frequently revised them at the suggestion of friends and critics alike. Symphony No. 7 was revised in 1885. Bruckner was affected by the death of his idol Richard Wagner in 1883 and acknowledged him by using Wagner tubas in the symphony's adagio. The symphony requires a rather large brass contingent including four horns, three trumpets, three trombones, four Wagner tubas and a contrabass tuba. The Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic brass has alumni in the horn sections of the New York Philharmonic, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.   

"Bruckner's seventh symphony is a monumental work that is both deeply spiritual and formally groundbreaking," said Noel Zahler, head of the School of Music. "The grandeur of Bruckner's symphonies are only rivaled by the cathedrals in which Bruckner worked as an organist."

Baldner was educated at Indiana University's noted Jacobs School of Music and served as chair of the Department of Instrumental Conducting there from 1976 to 2000. He was conductor of Cologne's Rheinisches Kammerorchester. He has guest conducted the Berlin, London and Munich philharmonics and the London Symphony Orchestra, among others.

The Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic has performed across the United States including Carnegie Hall in New York, Symphony Hall in Boston and Severance Hall in Cleveland. On April 29, the philharmonic will play Scelsi, Varese and Stravinsky at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., in Music Director Juan Pablo Izquierdo's final concert. Izquierdo will return periodically to Carnegie Mellon to record the complete arrangements of Arnold Schoenberg for Mode Records.