Carnegie Mellon University
Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

April 17: Carnegie Mellon's Jon Peha To Testify at FCC Hearing About Broadband Network Practices


Chriss Swaney                   

Carnegie Mellon's Jon Peha To Testify at FCC
Hearing About Broadband Network Practices

PITTSBURGH—Carnegie Mellon University's Jon Peha will recommend that Comcast be investigated for its broadband network advertising practices during a Federal Communications Commission (FCC) hearing today, April 17.
Jon Peha This is the second in a series of public hearings hosted by the FCC to hear testimony from experts on broadband network management practices, according to the FCC.
"In this hearing, I will recommend that Comcast be investigated for false advertising because they blocked peer-to-peer traffic on their network, and may have deliberately misinformed their customers about the practice," said Peha, a professor in the Department of Engineering and Public Policy and an associate director of the Center for Wireless and Broadband Networking at Carnegie Mellon.
At the same hearing at Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif., chaired by FCC Chairman Kevin J. Martin, Peha also will urge the FCC to continue careful oversight on issues of network neutrality. "I will argue for oversight but I want the FCC to remain cautious about adopting broad restrictions," Peha said.
The FCC is reviewing Comcast's practices of slowing down or blocking the delivery of some Internet content over its cable network. The company says it is engaging in routine network management, but critics have accused the communications giant of trying to hobble potential rivals in the competitive and lucrative video-on-demand business.
The FCC has guidelines saying that networks should not discriminate in the provision of broadband service or applications.
"These hearings give us a chance to weigh in on important public policy issues that will shape the future of the Internet," Peha said.
Other FCC commission members attending the hearings include Michael J. Copps, Jonathan S. Adelstein, Robert M. McDowell and Deborah Taylor Tate.